Hot Water Pie Crust I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
good recipie this is the first time i made a pie dough from scratch it wasnt dry at all in fact i had to add more flour and instead of butter or shortning i used margerine i put an egg wash on it and sprinkled sugar on top and it came out beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn Larrabee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
I have never been able to make a decent pie crust until I discovered this recipe. It has never failed me and it's so easy. Depending on the amount of humidity in the air I often have to increase the water to 1/3 cup to prevent the edges from cracking when I roll it out. Just mix it up, divide into two pieces, roughly shape into a circle (about 5-6 inches) and put in plastic bags for 15-20 minutes and it's ready to roll. Fantastic! And always flaky. No worries about "pea-size" pieces of shortening or using ice water and being extra careful about mixing. As others have suggested, rolling out between two pieces of wax paper helps to keep it from sticking to your pastry board, kitchen counter, or whatever you use. I recommend it to anyone who mentions they're planning to bake a pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
I'm not sold. It came out too crumbly. I tried to do a lattice and the strips kept breaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
we just made this dough and it turned out REALLY dry... crumbly... I will add some more milk and see what happens. Ok we just kept going with it and once you roll it out between wax paper sheets, it is fine!! Can't wait to taste it after it bakes, making apple and cherry turn overs! MMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Elliott

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Suamico, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
LOVE this recipe! I spent countless hours freezing flour and chilling shortening - but NO MORE! Now I can make pie crust whenever I want without having to wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KimberlyKTX

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
This goes contrary to everything I thought I knew about pie crust, but it works! I used butter instead of shortening and got a lovely crust--I didn't even roll it out, just patted it in the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah Jacques

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
Liked the outcome. crust was light and so easy to make without the headache of freezing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Excellent simple pie crust! I have another pie crust favorite recipe that uses an egg, and am currently out of eggs. So, I found this and decided to give it a shot. I used salted butter instead of shortening (and omitted the extra salt), and half white flour, half wheat flour. At first, once it was mixed, I was really worried that I'd missed a step because it wasn't holding together at all. Then I remembered that wheat flour needs more moisture (hello!). So I added more milk in small amounts until I reached the familiar pie crust dough consistency. At the suggestion of one other reviewer, I also added a tsp of sugar just for a little bit of sweet. It baked up wonderfully, and smelled SOOOO good! It tastes fantastic too! My Easter cherry pie was a hit at dinner. :) Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
Pie crusts are my bane. I've always been told that if you can make a good biscuit you can make a good pie crust. Well, I can make a biscuit that will make you slap a bulldog in the face but I can't make pie crusts without them being tough, tasteless, brittle, or some combination there-of. This one is simple though. Tasty, easy, and nearly impossible to mess up (even for me). This is the best pie crust I can imagine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Really happy with this recipe. The pastry was really flaky and buttery, probably due to me using butter instead of shortening. It was also easy to make, much easier than the traditional cold water method, which couldn't be over handled and the butter and equipment super cold. Too complicated. The hot water method is just so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States