Hot Water Pie Crust I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 3, 2004
This recipe was great. I just dumped all the ingredients into the food processor and presto, it was done. Instead of shortening I used butter. The pie crust tasted better than the pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2004
This is the only piecrust recipe I have ever tried that turns out perfect and flaky each and every time. During the holidays, I baked over 20 pies and everyone is now asking for this recipe! I really like the fact that it is so easy. I, too, roll in out between wax paper (no mess and so easy).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2004
This crust has an excellent flavor, but I found it a little difficult to work with. I haven't had much experience with making pies though, so that could have been the problem. I will definitely try this one again...my family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2003
I've been using this crust since I was a teenager (too many years ago to count at this point.) It's the most forgiving dough I've ever used and bakes up nice and flaky. So many crusts seem to mix well but not roll easily. This one rolls out perfectly. I use boiling water and roll it between sheets of waxed paper. I just tried making a quadruple batch of this crust using my KitchenAid mixer - figured it would either be great or a disaster. It was great. Very flaky and still easy to manange.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: O Fallon, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2003
I bake lots of pies. This is the easiest and best crust recipe I have tried in years. It turns out every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2003
This is the first time I've ever made a pie crust from scratch. This recipe is one of the less complicated ones. It came out flaky and perfect! I don't think I'll ever try another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2004
Very easy and flaky. I had to add a bit more milk to make it easier to work with but taste and texture and great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MADFORGOLD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tonawanda, New York, USA
Living In: Grand Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2004
Ann: Thank you so much for sharing this wonderful recipe! I've been using my old recipe for pie crust for over 30 years now, but threw it away after trying this one! It's the best...flaky, yet a little crispy. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Sparta, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2004
I had never made a pie crust before trying this recipe. It was so simple and it turned out great! My family was very impressed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUNNYD203

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bridgeport, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2005
I used this recipe when my husband called and wanted dinner for 5 in an hour, I folded it over some canned cherry pie filling and glazed it with 'vanilla glaze' located on this site also... 5 hungry soldiers said that these 'tarts' melted in their mouths!!! thanx for this awesome recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States