Hot Water Pie Crust I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
Fantastic! I hate making pie crust, and this one was so easy and came out so well. I split the dough into two equal balls, flattened each into a disc, and let them rest in the fridge for 1/2 hr. Definately roll out between wax paper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maplewood, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
Popped all of the ingredients into the processor and let that do that work. And then chilled the dough for an hour or more, rolled in between wax paper, and everything turned out easy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarah

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
Ok when I finally cooked it it tasted pretty good (but not fantastic), but I absolutely could not roll it out. Even after refrigerating it for an hour. My pot pie ended up having to be made with out a bottom crust and the top crust was patch worked with the largest pieces I could get set (about 2 in by 4 in). It tasted fine but I'll stick with the ice water recipes from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
This was my first attempt at making my own crust. I had a little bit of troulbe with rolling it out, only because I think it should have chilled longer. But the taste was excellent! Added about 1 1/2 tsp of sugar, and used regular shortening. Only used one crust in a 9 in. pan, so I cut the remainder with a cookie cutter, sprinkled with cinnamon sugar mix, and baked for about 13 minutes. If the crust is your favorite part of the pie, this is awesome! Nice and flaky crust recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dixon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
Very easy. I used the food processor too. I halved the recipe for one crust. It turned out very easy to roll out and stretch, and it was light and crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZAPATISTA234

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2006
This crust has a crisp, biscuit taste. I substituted 1/4 cup reduced fat butter and only 1/2 cup shortening then doubled the milk. It was easy to work with and stayed together nicely! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2005
I used this recipe when my husband called and wanted dinner for 5 in an hour, I folded it over some canned cherry pie filling and glazed it with 'vanilla glaze' located on this site also... 5 hungry soldiers said that these 'tarts' melted in their mouths!!! thanx for this awesome recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2004
I had a real hard time working with the dough. I will try it again and try adding more milk this time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2004
I had never made a pie crust before trying this recipe. It was so simple and it turned out great! My family was very impressed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUNNYD203

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bridgeport, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2004
I would rate 3 1/2 stars if the options was there. This crust was easy to make but it was very difficult to work with even after I chilled it. As for the flavor..it is good but I have had better. It lacks a bit of flavor. I used all fresh ingredients but maybe if I had used butter it would have more flavor. It is flaky although not enough to my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States