Hot Water Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2002
"A little bit of this and a little bit of that," has never helped when it came to Hot Water Cornbread, and is the only recipe my mom could give me. I tried this one (with a little modification) and it turned out great. The thing to remember is that the boiling water already cooks the cornmeal, so you don't have to fry it that long - just long enough for it to get LIGHT brown on each side. If you add sugar, you'll need to watch it extra carefully because the sugar will cause the cornbread to burn if the heat is real high. I'm not a pro and can prepare this without measuring!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
323 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2001
This recipe was pretty good.Really easy and really quick. The only thing that was dissapointing is that the recipe says you can make 12 cakes. They would have to be really small cakes. I usually get about 5-6 but with the bigger size you'll have to fry them a little longer. I also altered the recipe a little by taking the salt out completely and doubling the sugar. This give the bread a sweeter taste. I found it to be too salty with the original for my own taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
282 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2002
Quick and easy. These would go well with ham or fried fish or chicken as well as being a quick hot breakfast. The first batch I made, I forgot to add the shortening and they turned out just as good as the second batch with the shortening, so I'll be omitting the shortening from now on. They are a bit too salty, but cutting the salt in half makes them too bland for eating without syrup. Next time I'll try 3/4 teaspoon salt. I couldn't form little flatten balls, so I just dropped the batter by heaping spoonfuls onto a well-oiled skillet (I found that an eighth inch of oil worked as well as a half inch) They cook quickly and also burn quickly, so keep a close eye on the frying process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
205 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2003
This is a wonderful recipe. When I told my mom I found this recipe (she is 83 and a great cook)she said it was exactly right, except I needed to add 1 tbs of finely minced onion to make it authenic! I did and it was wonderful. Served with honey butter - also from this web site - and large lima beans cooked with bits of baked ham. Try it, if you love country cooking, you will love it! Thanks, Karin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Caledonia, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
Yummy! I am on a special diet (Daniel's fast) where I cannot eat many of the things you would normally put in breads so I was excited to find this recipe. I modified this to omit the sugar and shortening and cooked in olive oil. I dipped it in honey and it was very delicious - my whole family loved it! I agree with other reviewer that there is no difference with or without shortening so you might as well save the fat (I did try both ways). I also tried cooking the cornbread in 1/2" canola oil the first time and 1/8" olive the second time I made it and it tasted the same so again you can save calories. I will use this recipe over and over again - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cabot, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
i love hot water cornbread i didn't use the shorting i used butter real butter i was so.... good hot or cold
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaTasha Booker
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2005
I got the recipe. I have been looking for a long time for one that tasted like the one my grandmother fixed. It was GREAT!. After we had eaten I happened to look at the cornmeal I was using and it was Aunt Jemima self-rising yellow corn meal mix! I know that is not was what was called for but it was so good I will always fix it that way. Thanks for bringing back wonderful memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2006
This recipe was extremely easy, however my family and I felt the amount of salt overwhelmed us. Also, it only made about 6-3 inch cakes instead of 12-1 inch cakes. Cut the salt, to 1/2 to 3/4 tsp, and possibly add some minced onion for flavor. Also double the recipe if you are cooking for more than two people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TEXASFRECKLES

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
Growing up in East Texas, I was raised on this type of corn bread. The only changes that I have is add 1 cup of flour to the mix, and no sugar, but then again we eat them plain, no butter or syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori Davis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2005
EXCELLENT! I can't say enough good things about this super simple recipe. I used yellow corn meal, which I think has more flavor. Really good with a "country" meal without the syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States