Hot Water Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
I found this recipe when I needed a bread to have with dinner, but didn't have much on hand. This recipe saved the day! I've never had cornbread "fried". Hubby & kids all thought is was absolutely wonderful! We ate it with butter, but the kids had to try it with butter and syrup. WOW! I just can't say enough how wonderful this tastes for such a simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
I cut down on the salt and diced some onions gave it a good taste also. Thx for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
Great recipe! I think I used polenta (on hand) instead of corn meal. I also cut the salt and doubled the sugar. I didn't use oil to fry it in, but vegetable spray. It fell apart but for my first try, it tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lodi, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
I thought this was pretty good. I had never eaten this type of cornbread before so wasn't sure how it should taste. The people I served it to were dying to taste some because their Mom had always made it for them as children and they loved it. They thought it was good but just not as fluffy as their childhood version their Mom made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
Yummy! I am on a special diet (Daniel's fast) where I cannot eat many of the things you would normally put in breads so I was excited to find this recipe. I modified this to omit the sugar and shortening and cooked in olive oil. I dipped it in honey and it was very delicious - my whole family loved it! I agree with other reviewer that there is no difference with or without shortening so you might as well save the fat (I did try both ways). I also tried cooking the cornbread in 1/2" canola oil the first time and 1/8" olive the second time I made it and it tasted the same so again you can save calories. I will use this recipe over and over again - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cabot, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
Growing up in East Texas, I was raised on this type of corn bread. The only changes that I have is add 1 cup of flour to the mix, and no sugar, but then again we eat them plain, no butter or syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori Davis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
I wasn't a fan of these little cakes, but my husband and son really liked them. (I thought the cakes were somewhat bland.) My son is allergic to dairy and eggs, so this was a great recipe for him!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
i love hot water cornbread i didn't use the shorting i used butter real butter i was so.... good hot or cold
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaTasha Booker
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2006
This recipe was extremely easy, however my family and I felt the amount of salt overwhelmed us. Also, it only made about 6-3 inch cakes instead of 12-1 inch cakes. Cut the salt, to 1/2 to 3/4 tsp, and possibly add some minced onion for flavor. Also double the recipe if you are cooking for more than two people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TEXASFRECKLES

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2006
just what i was looking for,thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States