Hot Water Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
These were amazing, both plain and with onions. I caramelized some diced onion in the vegetable shortening and added that to the dough. Next time I will try bacon fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
made this for supper tonight and served it with great northern beans-- I was a little leary since it doesn't have any eggs. After reading a few reviews, decided to add a little flour, also omitted the salt and also the sugar because we don't like sweet cornbread. All in all, it was good-- I had to add a little more water than the recipe called for, but it was good--would recommend it for a change!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Salty and bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cmgrove86

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
I grew up eating hot water corn bread made from white corn flour (specifically Adams medium stone ground white cornmeal :-). Because I could only find this "meal"at stores in the south, I was desperate to find an alternate recipe. I have to agree with the other users who found this recipe too salty. Reduce the amount of salt in the recipe to 1/4 to 3/4 teaspoon to taste. Otherwise it is a very easy recipe and should be doubled if you are serving more than three people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
We liked these but they are a bit bland. I put salt on them after cooking to give some flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Rader

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hesperia, California, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
Was looking for a recipe that tasted like what my grandparents used to make. This was pretty good, but a little sweet. I used white corn meal and I cut the salt in half and threw in a pinch of baking powder (maybe 1/2 teaspoon) I used bacon grease for the shortning and to fry them in because that's what my grandparents did. This is probably as close as I will come but I'm going to adds a little flour and see how that tastes. My grandma's looked almost like english muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
I made this the first time just like the recipe said and it was way too salty, but if you cut the salt down to 1/2 tsp if your surving it with something salty or 3/4 tsp if you are serving it with maple syrup it works out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
Quick, Simple, Versatile, Delicious. Great sweet or savory. Compliments any meal. Suggestion: much easier when rolled into balls or cakes prior to cooking. Also, easier to remove cake from palm with back of a spoon slipped under edge of cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
I cooked these tonight and they were yummy! I took the advice of adding flour and minced onions. I will definitely do this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States