Hot Water Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
My mother, who has passed away, yesterday would have been her 78th birthday, was a wonderful cook. I was thinking about her and the life she had growing up in Thornton, TX. They were very poor and life was hard for her. She eventually moved to the big city, married and divorced. As she was a single mother, she loved to fix the foods she grew up eating. One of those was Hot Water Fried Corn Bread. Even though I didn't grow up in the country, I had the benefit of eating those foods. I could not remember exactly how she made this and thru Wikipedia, read about Hot Water Corn Bread and here I am. I guess there are two versions to this recipe: One savory and one sweet. We never ate the sweet one. My mother usually fixed this with fried potatoes, greens and either pinto beans, Giant butter beans, black-eyed peas etc...There were several different types of beans, depending on what was available or her mood. We also would have fresh cut tomatoes, green onions or a vegetable salad. The crispier and browner she'd fry these, the better I liked it and I can't wait to try these out with some black-eyed peas and ham hocks I hear calling my name. Thanks for posting this recipe for some really good Texas Soul Food memories. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
We really liked these. Can't wait to try them again, just no salt this time and maybe some flour. Now i have to figure out what to make to make with them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leelee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Turned out great! Tasty even without honey, I just added a touch baking powder and used salted butter. yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
These were amazing, both plain and with onions. I caramelized some diced onion in the vegetable shortening and added that to the dough. Next time I will try bacon fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
made this for supper tonight and served it with great northern beans-- I was a little leary since it doesn't have any eggs. After reading a few reviews, decided to add a little flour, also omitted the salt and also the sugar because we don't like sweet cornbread. All in all, it was good-- I had to add a little more water than the recipe called for, but it was good--would recommend it for a change!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Salty and bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cmgrove86

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
I grew up eating hot water corn bread made from white corn flour (specifically Adams medium stone ground white cornmeal :-). Because I could only find this "meal"at stores in the south, I was desperate to find an alternate recipe. I have to agree with the other users who found this recipe too salty. Reduce the amount of salt in the recipe to 1/4 to 3/4 teaspoon to taste. Otherwise it is a very easy recipe and should be doubled if you are serving more than three people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
We liked these but they are a bit bland. I put salt on them after cooking to give some flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Rader

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hesperia, California, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
Was looking for a recipe that tasted like what my grandparents used to make. This was pretty good, but a little sweet. I used white corn meal and I cut the salt in half and threw in a pinch of baking powder (maybe 1/2 teaspoon) I used bacon grease for the shortning and to fry them in because that's what my grandparents did. This is probably as close as I will come but I'm going to adds a little flour and see how that tastes. My grandma's looked almost like english muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States