Hot Water Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
Quick, Simple, Versatile, Delicious. Great sweet or savory. Compliments any meal. Suggestion: much easier when rolled into balls or cakes prior to cooking. Also, easier to remove cake from palm with back of a spoon slipped under edge of cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
I cooked these tonight and they were yummy! I took the advice of adding flour and minced onions. I will definitely do this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
Great recipe!! My family tore it up. I did add a 3/4 cup of flour according to another user..ommitted the sugar and shortening...and used olive oil for the frying..They were excellent. Thank you so much for the recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by healthymind

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
taste just like my great grandmother used to make...takes me way back...to the aroma's of her kitchen!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by olive_to_cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
Little salty for my taste but next time I will reduce the salt and add some baking powder to make them fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
loved it, my husband has to have a gluten-free diet and these make a great snack
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nevis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
Love it .. so easy and different from the same old cornbread. I make these all the time now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ladybuggs5224
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
Made this recipe to a T and after I fried the first few they were so flat and bland. I ended up adding some baking powder which made them fluff a bit more and I should have added something to adjust the flavor. I don't think I will ever make these again as no one really ate them well. Maybe I had higher expectations for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
This is one of the best Hot Water Cornbread recipes i've come across. The sweetness of the sugar is perfect as well as the salt. I've also added just a teaspoon of flour to the batter after it cools a bit, this gives it a little extra texture after cooking. Since i enjoy alittle spice in alot of my cooking i'll add minced onion, jalapeno and one half cup of drained Whole Kernal Corn to half the batter, its great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springhill, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Delight, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
These were very good! I do agree that a bit of onion makes it even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 41-50 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States