Hot Water Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2001
This recipe was pretty good.Really easy and really quick. The only thing that was dissapointing is that the recipe says you can make 12 cakes. They would have to be really small cakes. I usually get about 5-6 but with the bigger size you'll have to fry them a little longer. I also altered the recipe a little by taking the salt out completely and doubling the sugar. This give the bread a sweeter taste. I found it to be too salty with the original for my own taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
282 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2002
"A little bit of this and a little bit of that," has never helped when it came to Hot Water Cornbread, and is the only recipe my mom could give me. I tried this one (with a little modification) and it turned out great. The thing to remember is that the boiling water already cooks the cornmeal, so you don't have to fry it that long - just long enough for it to get LIGHT brown on each side. If you add sugar, you'll need to watch it extra carefully because the sugar will cause the cornbread to burn if the heat is real high. I'm not a pro and can prepare this without measuring!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
323 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2002
Quick and easy. These would go well with ham or fried fish or chicken as well as being a quick hot breakfast. The first batch I made, I forgot to add the shortening and they turned out just as good as the second batch with the shortening, so I'll be omitting the shortening from now on. They are a bit too salty, but cutting the salt in half makes them too bland for eating without syrup. Next time I'll try 3/4 teaspoon salt. I couldn't form little flatten balls, so I just dropped the batter by heaping spoonfuls onto a well-oiled skillet (I found that an eighth inch of oil worked as well as a half inch) They cook quickly and also burn quickly, so keep a close eye on the frying process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
205 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2003
This is a wonderful recipe. When I told my mom I found this recipe (she is 83 and a great cook)she said it was exactly right, except I needed to add 1 tbs of finely minced onion to make it authenic! I did and it was wonderful. Served with honey butter - also from this web site - and large lima beans cooked with bits of baked ham. Try it, if you love country cooking, you will love it! Thanks, Karin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Caledonia, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2003
My corn cakes crumbled, but practice will make perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2005
This recipe was very easy to follow. No one knew I had never made hot water corn bread before... And, I loved the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2005
EXCELLENT! I can't say enough good things about this super simple recipe. I used yellow corn meal, which I think has more flavor. Really good with a "country" meal without the syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2005
this is not as easy as it sounds but it is totally worth the effort. I must perfect this recipe some patties were done some not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2005
we think this is FANTASTIC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2005
I got the recipe. I have been looking for a long time for one that tasted like the one my grandmother fixed. It was GREAT!. After we had eaten I happened to look at the cornmeal I was using and it was Aunt Jemima self-rising yellow corn meal mix! I know that is not was what was called for but it was so good I will always fix it that way. Thanks for bringing back wonderful memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States