Hot Water Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
Great!Served them at a dinner party instead of traditional cornbread, reminds me of cornbread hushpuppies!I used my fry daddy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jamidee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
This is one version of Hot Water Cornbread. I was taught to just buy a cornmeal mix, add boiling water, until just mixed and fry in a little grease. It works just as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIVAMOMMIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
I thought these were very good, better than typical baked cornbread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
not really what i was expecting. the cornmeal didnt cook very well with the boiling water so the texture was grainy and the cornbread cakes themselves were incredibly bland. there are a number of changes I would make - including working in some leavening agents and some flour to give it a lighter fexgture. i'd also probably use instant grits instead of actual corn meal to hopefully remedy the texture flaws. Other than that I'd probably spray them with some butter or oil and bake them instead - the frying is just unnecessary calories. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn L

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Maine, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
I finally learned how to prepare these! They were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CASSIE811

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2008
These corncakes are very yummy. I like the level of salt-flavor, but I would like them a little sweeter, so next time I'll add more sugar. I did fry them too long. By the time they're really golden, they're too crispy on the outside to cut easily. I can't wait to make them again and not overcook them. They are delicious and I love the taste of them with real maple syrup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
Out of 8 people, 6 loved it, one said it was ok, and one did not like it. I liked it, but it was a little bit too salty. I fried it in bacon grease, so I think that upped the salt a little bit. I was wanting a recipe that duplicated one my grandmother use to make, this is not it, but close. I will add some garlic and onion powder, and maybe some other things and try again. Good base recipe, adjust to your taste!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jewell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morrison, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Agra, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
I found this recipe when I needed a bread to have with dinner, but didn't have much on hand. This recipe saved the day! I've never had cornbread "fried". Hubby & kids all thought is was absolutely wonderful! We ate it with butter, but the kids had to try it with butter and syrup. WOW! I just can't say enough how wonderful this tastes for such a simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
I cut down on the salt and diced some onions gave it a good taste also. Thx for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
Great recipe! I think I used polenta (on hand) instead of corn meal. I also cut the salt and doubled the sugar. I didn't use oil to fry it in, but vegetable spray. It fell apart but for my first try, it tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lodi, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States