Hot Water Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
loved it, my husband has to have a gluten-free diet and these make a great snack
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nevis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
Love it .. so easy and different from the same old cornbread. I make these all the time now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Jones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ladybuggs5224
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
Made this recipe to a T and after I fried the first few they were so flat and bland. I ended up adding some baking powder which made them fluff a bit more and I should have added something to adjust the flavor. I don't think I will ever make these again as no one really ate them well. Maybe I had higher expectations for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
This is one of the best Hot Water Cornbread recipes i've come across. The sweetness of the sugar is perfect as well as the salt. I've also added just a teaspoon of flour to the batter after it cools a bit, this gives it a little extra texture after cooking. Since i enjoy alittle spice in alot of my cooking i'll add minced onion, jalapeno and one half cup of drained Whole Kernal Corn to half the batter, its great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springhill, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Delight, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
These were very good! I do agree that a bit of onion makes it even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
This recipe is similar to how my mother used to make them, minus the sugar. However, I the ladies at church whip up a batch and they just used self-rising white cornbread and added hot water to it until it was the consistency of mashed potatoes. Then, she dropped spoonfuls in deep fat. They looked more like hush puppies than pancakes, and they were delicious. No need for butter, honey, or anything else. Wonderful with collard greens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
Really yummy! Add a little honey and it is excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Ferguson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Lancaster, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
This is an "OLE TIME" recipe for sure. THE SALT SHOULD BE ELIMANATED! TO RECEIVE 5 STARS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
Very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
Amazing. Didn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by buchana5

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States