Hot Water Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
This recipe is similar to how my mother used to make them, minus the sugar. However, I the ladies at church whip up a batch and they just used self-rising white cornbread and added hot water to it until it was the consistency of mashed potatoes. Then, she dropped spoonfuls in deep fat. They looked more like hush puppies than pancakes, and they were delicious. No need for butter, honey, or anything else. Wonderful with collard greens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
Really yummy! Add a little honey and it is excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Ferguson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Lancaster, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
This is an "OLE TIME" recipe for sure. THE SALT SHOULD BE ELIMANATED! TO RECEIVE 5 STARS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
Very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
Amazing. Didn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by buchana5

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
i omitted the salt and added 1/4 cup sugar. i always love sweet cornbread. it was so easy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LANGSTON28

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wayne, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
Great!Served them at a dinner party instead of traditional cornbread, reminds me of cornbread hushpuppies!I used my fry daddy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jamidee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
This is one version of Hot Water Cornbread. I was taught to just buy a cornmeal mix, add boiling water, until just mixed and fry in a little grease. It works just as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIVAMOMMIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
I thought these were very good, better than typical baked cornbread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
not really what i was expecting. the cornmeal didnt cook very well with the boiling water so the texture was grainy and the cornbread cakes themselves were incredibly bland. there are a number of changes I would make - including working in some leavening agents and some flour to give it a lighter fexgture. i'd also probably use instant grits instead of actual corn meal to hopefully remedy the texture flaws. Other than that I'd probably spray them with some butter or oil and bake them instead - the frying is just unnecessary calories. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn L

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Maine, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States