Hot Water Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 13, 2011
Our family has eaten Hot Water Cornbread for years. My Mom calls it Five Finger Cornbread because you can see your fingers after making the patties. Love it with butter and syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shawnee, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
Ill give it 3 stars only because I messed up somewhere. Nothing but grease
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Qcrazy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
Memories of my grandmother when I reduce the sugar to half teaspoon and add about a half tsp pepper. Absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ILEANA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
My mother, who has passed away, yesterday would have been her 78th birthday, was a wonderful cook. I was thinking about her and the life she had growing up in Thornton, TX. They were very poor and life was hard for her. She eventually moved to the big city, married and divorced. As she was a single mother, she loved to fix the foods she grew up eating. One of those was Hot Water Fried Corn Bread. Even though I didn't grow up in the country, I had the benefit of eating those foods. I could not remember exactly how she made this and thru Wikipedia, read about Hot Water Corn Bread and here I am. I guess there are two versions to this recipe: One savory and one sweet. We never ate the sweet one. My mother usually fixed this with fried potatoes, greens and either pinto beans, Giant butter beans, black-eyed peas etc...There were several different types of beans, depending on what was available or her mood. We also would have fresh cut tomatoes, green onions or a vegetable salad. The crispier and browner she'd fry these, the better I liked it and I can't wait to try these out with some black-eyed peas and ham hocks I hear calling my name. Thanks for posting this recipe for some really good Texas Soul Food memories. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
We really liked these. Can't wait to try them again, just no salt this time and maybe some flour. Now i have to figure out what to make to make with them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leelee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Turned out great! Tasty even without honey, I just added a touch baking powder and used salted butter. yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
These were amazing, both plain and with onions. I caramelized some diced onion in the vegetable shortening and added that to the dough. Next time I will try bacon fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
made this for supper tonight and served it with great northern beans-- I was a little leary since it doesn't have any eggs. After reading a few reviews, decided to add a little flour, also omitted the salt and also the sugar because we don't like sweet cornbread. All in all, it was good-- I had to add a little more water than the recipe called for, but it was good--would recommend it for a change!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Salty and bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cmgrove86

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
I grew up eating hot water corn bread made from white corn flour (specifically Adams medium stone ground white cornmeal :-). Because I could only find this "meal"at stores in the south, I was desperate to find an alternate recipe. I have to agree with the other users who found this recipe too salty. Reduce the amount of salt in the recipe to 1/4 to 3/4 teaspoon to taste. Otherwise it is a very easy recipe and should be doubled if you are serving more than three people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States