Hot Water Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
This is good and easy. To make this though I must be in the mood to deal wtih leftover oil. I added a dash more salt because I didn't intend on eating with honey or syrup - just plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chapel Hill, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Unionville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
Just like Momma used to make...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeri Bolin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Duncanville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
I used a hand milled locally purchased cornmeal...fantastic texture. Used shortening and bacon grease, I think it really did something good for the flavor. Topped it with a dab of real butter and some local, organic buckwheat honey. OMG it was so good! Hubby kept asking for more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
YUMMY! Thank you for posting this recipe! My gluten free family of 8 all enjoyed these and they are inexpensive & quick. PLUS I've made these and rolled them in cinnamon and sugar for a doughnut like treat...the kids love them! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A.Bressi

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
Love this recipe!!! Added minced onion really enhanced the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
Good recipe. We had it as a side to a bowl of simple brown rice and kidney beans. Because of previous reviews i decided to increse the serving size to more then i needed. I increased it to 20 and i ended up with 16. It would not form "little cakes" so i just dropped it in the oil right off a spoon. I was also out of salt so i just used the sugar and i spread salted butter on the top, and they came out very good. Even my little sister who will eat almost nothing except pizza liked them! Oh and i used butter instead of shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
This is a wonderful recipe. I did add self-rising flour 1/4 cup, cut salt to 1/2 tsp. also for everyones benefit if you wet your hands prior to rolling your patties out or corn balls they will not stick to your hands. I also used cocoanut oil for frying. Suppose to be healthier for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
Great recipe! Thanks!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIM ROSS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
For some reason, mine fell apart :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRE8JSE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 13, 2011
Our family has eaten Hot Water Cornbread for years. My Mom calls it Five Finger Cornbread because you can see your fingers after making the patties. Love it with butter and syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shawnee, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States