Hot Vanilla Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 26, 2005
This was very tasty, even using skim milk and a cheap artificial vanilla extract. I found the texture of the undissolvable cinnamon to be weird, so I would consider using cinnamon candies / cinnamon extract next time to get that taste. Otherwise, the flavour of this drink is excellent, and the proportions are perfect. Thanks for the good idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2005
Delicious, next time I will use half the cinnamon, it's a bit too much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
Yummy! But for my apartment where I don't have a microwave, I add 3/4 cup boiling water to 1/4 cup half-&-half cream, with the same amount of vanilla, cinnamon, and sugar (or sweetener). Just a delish, and you don't need a microvvave!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bbank334

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
Yummy, warm and just what I am looking for on a cold winter day. It's a unique and great alternative as well as very simple. thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn R

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Altamont, New York, USA
Living In: Amherst, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2006
It was good for what it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
Ugh, not sweet enough and the cinnamon turned out slimey. I couldn't stomach it. On the other hand my boyfriend liked it. Guess it depends on your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2006
Wow, this is a great drink. For additional flavour, I added 1/4 tsp of cocoa. Thanks so much for submitting this recipe. Just fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2006
Oh wow, sooo good. The perfect comfort drink. Suggestion: if you are using soy milk, add an extra teaspoon of sugar. Changes I made: I only put in 1/2 tsp cinnamon so I could taste the vanilla more. About the "slimey cinnamon"- I didn't encounter that problem. I mixed the cinnamon and sugar in the bottom of the mug first, then used the vanilla to dissolve it. Add the milk last. When you take it of the microwave, stir vigoursly (sp?) and it's fine. Thanks for the post, definitely making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2006
It was quick and easy to make and tasted amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Ivonne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2006
I'm a poor little college student with a cold and I needed a little pick-me-up. This was perfect! I'll definitely make it again, maybe try some nutmeg and stir the cinnamon more before I put it into the milk. All around yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Byron, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hot Apple Cider

Nothing beats back a chilly day better than a steaming mug of spiced apple cider.

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

Hot Toddy Cocktail

See how to make this classic winter warmer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States