Hot Vanilla Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
Tasty, but not quite worth it. The cinnamon floated up after microwaving despite my trying the mix-with-vanilla-and-sugar trick. If you add the spices AFTER microwaving, that might help, because they were down when I stirred and then floated up while in the microwave. If you like hot chocolate, though, stick with that...especially if you make it with water and powder it is (imo) healthier than this drink, since this has quite a lot of sugar and a bit of fat from milk. Though the skim milk and no-cal sweetener would fix that. (If I can ever convince the rest of my family that skim milk is not evil incarnate!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alarose

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
The first time I had tried this Hot drink i thought it was really really good. I could taste the vanilla and cinnamon in it. That was a great idea to make and to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Springfield, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
i just made this, and it is very good. however, there is too much cinnamon. i'd cut it to 1/2 or even 1/4 tsp of cinnamon. i used soy milk, and added an extra tsp of sugar, as someone suggested. i also mixed the cinnamon and sugar together, dissolved it in vanilla, and THEN added the [soy]milk, which minimized bits of cinnamon floating on top. i also added a little chunk of semisweet chocolate, for a kick. it's good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
This was very tasty! I used vanilla soy milk and the drink was warm, comforting and delicious. I am not a milk drinker but this could change my mind. It's perfect for the holiday season!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lee's Summit, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
Mmmm....mmmm....good. I didnt really follow the recipe. I put honey in it for the sweetner, I put a little nutmeg and some pumpkin pie spice in it too. I love the basic idea of this recipe. I can fix it to my liking. My husband loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEIDI4

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fillmore, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
very good! - perfect for a warm night at home - i found my new favorite drink! thanks for the recipe, it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
I hate giving a recipe a bad review but this just didn't do it for me. It had way too much cinnamon & vanilla and not enough sugar. I guess I was expecting a warmed up version of my riceless horchata which uses all of these same ingredients in different quantities, but served cold. Even after thinning this out twice with more milk it was still overwhelming for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
I always thought that hot chocolate was all way too ...well...chocolatie..I love the hot vanilla! I'm hooked!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chowchick

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Linton, Indiana, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
I used the basic idea and adjusted the sugar and cinnamon to my taste. Good to have in the cold weather.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jojo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sault Sainte Marie, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2006
Okay, this was a neat alternative to warm milk that i usually drink before bed. the only problem was, I think the amount of sugar (you figure the vanilla extract is sweet too!) in the drink kept me awake at night! and 1 tsp. of cinnamon is an awful lot for one mug of milk, so next time i will cut the cinnamon/sugar mixture in half. and i will also do what another reviewer did, put the cinnamon/sugar mix at the bottom, use the vanilla to dissolve it, then add the milk. Because my cinnamon didn't really dissolve and did get a bit "slimey". Overall though, a tasty drink, it tastes similar to a spice latte at Starbucks, without the hefty price tag! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomSavedbyGrace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Exton, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Hot Apple Cider

Nothing beats back a chilly day better than a steaming mug of spiced apple cider.

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

Hot Toddy Cocktail

See how to make this classic winter warmer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States