Hot Turkey Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
The only variations I made were to omit the pecans as I'm not a fan, and I used baked Lays potato chips as they were all I had on hand. This is a great way to use leftover turkey to create another dish. I will make this again, thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
Surprisingly good. The crunchy celery makes this dish- it needs more onion ( a lot more, finely chopped onion - like a whole small onion) Skip the salt - maybe a tiny bit of seasoning salt - I used cornflakes instead of potato chips because I had no chips. I will keep this in line for my after Thanksgiving meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
I would give this ten stars if I could. It's delicious! I can't believe it's only a four star recipe. I really tried to stick to the ingredients so I could judge it fairly. I made half a recipe with leftover Easter turkey breast and in place of the regular salt, I used both seasoned salt and garlic salt. I did use a whole green onion so that was more than a tsp. but the more onion the better in our opinion! Do Not leave out the pecans, they add a wonderful texture and flavor! My hubby couldn't believe he liked them in this casserole since he never likes them in cold turkey or chicken salad! I also used reduced fat cheese and low fat mayo and we totally couldn't taste a difference in the finished product. Yummy!! I will always use this recipe after holidays and probably look forward to the leftoves more than the holiday meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrieh82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
What a wonderful, tasty dish using leftover turkey! I made the following adjustments based on the ingredients I had: I used chopped fresh red pepper instead of celery, and I added about 1/2 cup of garbanzo beans because I needed to use them up. I used seasoned salt, not regular salt. Also, instead of crushed potato chips, I used crushed white tortilla chips. I'm guessing the original recipe is tasty, based on everyone's reviews, but what I ended up making was scrumptious and I will definitely make it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
Instead of the chopped pecans our family has always used water chestnuts...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
Really great way to use left over turkey! The only thing I did differently, was add our left over cranberry sauce to the mayo and lemon juice.. About 2 tablespoons. More would have been even tastier! So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
Was quite surprised at how much we liked this! I cut the recipe in half and used a good 1/3 cup of diced onion. I don't like pecans so we used almonds and it was still great. Had thought about adding garlic, but decided not to and it was great without garlic and I usually add garlic to everything. My husband and I kept picking at it and eventually ate all 3 servings between the 2 of us! Was pretty bummed we had no leftovers. Very good! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blue eyed CC

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Roselle, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
I've been making this same recipe for 20+ yrs. It's a great way to use leftover turkey. No need for the salt. The potato chips, regardless of the kind you use, typically have enough salt for the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
This was okay, not spectacular. An okay way to use up left over turkey, certainly edible, but nothing I will be itching to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
Great taste but I will leave off the salt next time. May even try a light cream of mushroom soup. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fishkill, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Waldorf Salad

Use leftover turkey to make this classic salad with a creamy yogurt dressing.

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Turkey Noodle Casserole

See how to make this classic casserole starring leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States