Hot Toddy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
It did nothing for my stuffy nose but after drinking the hotty toddy (and no I'm not drunk and I do know how to spell the title of this drink), I sure didn't care about it. Goodnight ya'll! Oh wait. I did modify after tasting the final results, which tasted like watered down whiskey. I made hot tea and combined the 2 drinks. Served with "Fresh Pea Soup," "Italian Peas," "Fried Broccoli," "Pumpkin Seed Beer Brittle," and "Ham and Cheese Bowties."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
This drink is the silver lining of getting sick. It's soothing, great-tasting, and knocks me out within 20 minutes. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
The spices are a great touch. It is so soothing on a sore throat. Thank you so much for the great recipe! I can't wait till the next time I have a sore throat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
Except for the lemon, I add a pad of butter with some brown sugar. AND I use Meyers Dark Jamaican Rum.. Best hot toddy, hot buttered rum ever.Used to bartend at a ski lodge, now there were some happy skiers after a day out in elements. No colds the next day. hahaha..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COUNTRYRAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
I followed the suggestion in an earlier comment and used tea instead of water. I happened to have 'gingerbread' herbal tea, and so I omitted the spices, which simplified the recipe for me. We enjoyed it and will make it again. Thanks for the inspiration!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROSEP47

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
My late step dad used to make this for me (as a young adult of corse)and was just thinking about it the other day and went looking for the recipe, this is just the ticket, Thank you so much for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Koolaidemomstaci

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
Very good - but better with tea (Constant Comment a good match!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Betterton, Maryland, USA
Living In: Chestertown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
Didn't have whiskey so used vanilla rum and a hit of orange liqueur, on top of a constant comment green tea bag. Honestly I've been blowing my nose all day so after a few sips, not feeling tipsy, but the heat is helping to clear stuff out. I'm sure I'll sleep well tonight! thanks for the post
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna WISHES she were a

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
This really helped to relax my cold-addled brain and soothe my raw throat. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
I've been using this approximate recipe for several evenings now as I have a cold. It is definitely comforting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gresham, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hot Toddy Cocktail

See how to make this classic winter warmer.

How to Make Red Hot Liqueur

This beautiful, sweet-and-spicy, cinnamon-flavored liqueur is so easy to make.

Hot Buttered Rum Batter

Batter up! It’s hot buttered rum when you need it.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States