Hot Tamale Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Awesome recipe idea! I like another person used canned RoTel and I added minced garlic and onions while the meat cooked. I then topped it with sour cream when I served it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
155 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
This was really good! Based on all the reviews, I took a little from everyone. (thanks to all the good cooks who took the time to write a review) I used ground turkey, added chopped onion,garlic and serrano pepper to meat while it was cooking. I used Taco seasoning, oregano, Rotel diced tomato's and green chilies and a can of black beans rinsed and drained. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
130 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
All things considered, this is a simple but tasty recipe that I keep changing to find new combinations of ingredients. I think the cornbread on the top and bottom is a bit much for me but my son likes it this way. I have moved to putting the cornbread mixture on the top only making for less cornbread and more ingredients. The poblano peppers help make this dish different. This has become a regular in our meal rotation due to its simplicity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
128 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
Yep! It's a keeper! There are only two of us, so I cut the recipe in half, and baked in an 8 x 8 brownie pan. I was careful to keep the layers separate, so it looked as gorgeous as shown in Chef John's video (see photos: it was submitted by "Denise"-thanks)! I came close, but the Jiffy mix fools you: wet it looks like a thin layer, but cooked it puffs a LOT, so it blends heartily with the meat layer. I still had a good layering going on when served, and it tasted delicious. Easy, worth-it recipe. Even great the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TartanSongbird007

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
this is a great place to start! i used less ground beef, added a drained can of black beans, and used rotel instead of salsa and in place of the peppers i just used 1 green pepper. i pretty much doubled the cheese in both places. it was FANTASTIC. i'm going to divide it up and freeze it in single sized portions so i can enjoy this for a while! next time i'm going to use lentils instead of ground beef for a meat free meal. to penny pinch you could leave the bottom layer of cornbread out and just make the top portion and it'd be just as good, but i like the extra layer in there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
Ok, took me awhile to find this recipe because I only saw the video once prior to making it lol. Thusly I did change a few things, relatively minor. First, we have no Jiffy cornmeal mix up here so I made a double cornbread recipe and split it. No Poblano's either so I chopped up a red and a green bell pepper. I didn't thaw my corn. The spice amounts I guessed at and while I was a little light on the salt, it was fine. I subbed in just a very little bit of red pepper flakes instead of the chipotle powder because we like just a wee bit of heat. I upped it a bit more by using a pre-mixed bag of shredded cheddar, jack and colby cheese with hanbanero and jalapeno peppers. I used maybe a 1/2 cup of cheese. The end result was and is wonderfully edible. A dish that will go in the rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raedwulf

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Okanagan, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
Great starting place. Easy to customize. I gave it four stars because it calls for corn muffin mix. I made my family corn bread (1 C flour, 2/3 C corn meal, 1/3 C sugar, 4 t. baking powder, 1 C milk, 2 eggs) and subbed 1 can Rotel tomatoes and 1 can enchilada sauce for the salsa because I didn't have enough salsa on hand. I also left out the poblano peppers (didn't have any). It turned out really great. I baked for 40 minutes at 400 since that was what my corn bread recipe called for. It was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Franklin, Tennessee, USA
Living In: East Northport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SUZZANNA
Reviewed: May 5, 2012
Great recipe. My family really liked it. I used 4 large poblano peppers, which was just under a pound total. I only cooked it 50 minutes, and I could have probably taken it out of the oven after about 40 minutes, because it seemed slightly dry. Other than that, great recipe. Thanks, Chef John...another winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUZZANNA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
OMG! I love this recipe. It was absolutely delicious. My 6 year old loved it also and she is a picky eater. My only thing I would change next time is use more cornbread, only because I'm a cornbread fiend. I'll also try next time using taco seasoning for the meat and see how that goes. Glad I found this one. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AEROJUNKI
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
My fiance told me to give this recipe five stars once I told him the scale only went from 1 to 5. This was easy to make, and we made it together. We don't eat spicy food due to IBS, so we just used green bell pepper and mild salsa. Turned out beautifully and gives us plenty of leftovers for the week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AEROJUNKI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Enola, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tamale Pie

See the simple secret to this 5-star ground beef casserole.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States