Hot Tamale Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
Ok, took me awhile to find this recipe because I only saw the video once prior to making it lol. Thusly I did change a few things, relatively minor. First, we have no Jiffy cornmeal mix up here so I made a double cornbread recipe and split it. No Poblano's either so I chopped up a red and a green bell pepper. I didn't thaw my corn. The spice amounts I guessed at and while I was a little light on the salt, it was fine. I subbed in just a very little bit of red pepper flakes instead of the chipotle powder because we like just a wee bit of heat. I upped it a bit more by using a pre-mixed bag of shredded cheddar, jack and colby cheese with hanbanero and jalapeno peppers. I used maybe a 1/2 cup of cheese. The end result was and is wonderfully edible. A dish that will go in the rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raedwulf

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Okanagan, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
OMG! I love this recipe. It was absolutely delicious. My 6 year old loved it also and she is a picky eater. My only thing I would change next time is use more cornbread, only because I'm a cornbread fiend. I'll also try next time using taco seasoning for the meat and see how that goes. Glad I found this one. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
I really liked this dish! My husband did not. He thought there was too much corn bread and not enough meat. I am going to make it again and not do corn bread on the bottom, just the top. I also cooked my meat with some peppers for some extra flavor. It was a tasty meal. It was quick and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
All things considered, this is a simple but tasty recipe that I keep changing to find new combinations of ingredients. I think the cornbread on the top and bottom is a bit much for me but my son likes it this way. I have moved to putting the cornbread mixture on the top only making for less cornbread and more ingredients. The poblano peppers help make this dish different. This has become a regular in our meal rotation due to its simplicity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
122 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
I will try this tonight...Although it's not listed...I think I'll drain the beef mixture before adding the salsa sauce. Cooked it and it was great!!! My wife didn't let me drain the meat since it didn't say drain. Overall this dish will be added to our lineup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
this is a great place to start! i used less ground beef, added a drained can of black beans, and used rotel instead of salsa and in place of the peppers i just used 1 green pepper. i pretty much doubled the cheese in both places. it was FANTASTIC. i'm going to divide it up and freeze it in single sized portions so i can enjoy this for a while! next time i'm going to use lentils instead of ground beef for a meat free meal. to penny pinch you could leave the bottom layer of cornbread out and just make the top portion and it'd be just as good, but i like the extra layer in there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Awesome recipe idea! I like another person used canned RoTel and I added minced garlic and onions while the meat cooked. I then topped it with sour cream when I served it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
144 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
This was really good! Based on all the reviews, I took a little from everyone. (thanks to all the good cooks who took the time to write a review) I used ground turkey, added chopped onion,garlic and serrano pepper to meat while it was cooking. I used Taco seasoning, oregano, Rotel diced tomato's and green chilies and a can of black beans rinsed and drained. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
122 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
unsure the first time with this dish. but we are making it a second time so yummy!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
really enjoyed the tamale pie, i made a few changes to the recipe, I love spicy food, so I added some jalapenos, taco seasoning mix, black olives, and mexican style cheese. It was great your way and my way! I saved it to my recipe box
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rbowlin7

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tamale Pie

See the simple secret to this 5-star ground beef casserole.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States