Hot Tamale Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
This turned out great, though I tweaked it. Instead of two pounds of beef I used one pound plus black and pinto beans. I added onion and garlic and jalepeno (I had no chipotle). I used only one package of corn bread, which was plenty. It turned out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
Loved this recipe! I substituted the chipotle pepper with 1/2 tsp. of chili powder and 1/2 tsp. of cayenne pepper. Not too spicy - even my young kids ate it! I used a chipotle salsa from a jar and it really added a lot of flavor! I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
My husband is mexican and he hated that this was called Tamale Pie, but he certainly did NOT complain after biting into the first bite! My family enjoyed this meal, asking me to keep it around to make again. We added some HOT Salsa, and it wasn't spicy enough, going to amp it up some more next time. Otherwise wonderful. I did not include the peppers and I used a Mixed Vegetable mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
I did make some additions to the recipe. (Hopefully not too many. :) ) I added Rotel tomatoes instead of salsa, 2 cans of corn (undrained), 2 cans of pinto beans (drained and rinsed). I could not get poblano peppers, so I substituted anaheim peppers. I also added cumin, taco seasoning, chopped onion and minced garlic. I also cut the cooking time to 40 minutes at 350. It turned out very nicely...even my daughter liked it (she always complains of spicy food). Will definitely put this in the rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
This was really good. It was a little dry so I might add a little more salsa the next time, but the flavor is excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
I live abroad so having the muffin mix was no good, but I have a wonderful corn bread recipe I used instead. Corn bread with cheddar cheese in it was divine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
I made this because it looked like it was similar to what my mom made when we were kids, but her recipe was sweet, so this wasn't it. I can't really rate this fairly because I'm not sure I followed it exactly. I had chipotle chili powder, and I'm not sure if that's the same thing as just chipotle powder. Also, since I halved the recipe, I skipped having the corn bread on the bottom, and just spread the mixture with the cheese over the meat mixture. It only baked for about 25 minutes that way. Overall, it was much spicier than I would have liked, and it could have been that the chipotle chili powder wasn't the right spice. It had sort of a strange taste. Probably won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
My wife and I enjoyed this recipe. I used more cheese than the recipe called for, and instead of using dried chipotle pepper, I used a can of whole chipotle pepper in adobo sauce. I think that this definitely helped to bring out more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
Just OK
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amonia

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 204) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tamale Pie

See the simple secret to this 5-star ground beef casserole.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States