Hot Tamale Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
This recipe is SUPER! My family loves cornbread and Mexican anything, so the combo is a winner. I know my family, so I double the spices, and use 3 lb ground beef. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LUCHAPROV

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alamosa, Colorado, USA
Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
Great when the weather gets cold! It's so easy to add other ingredients to make this to your liking. Can't go wrong with chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Basehor, Kansas, USA
Living In: Belton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
I made this last night and it was a huge hit. However, I didn't have any salsa or hot peppers, so I pretty much prepared the ground turkey the same way I would for spaghetti. I browned it with garlic, onion, and red peppers, and seasoned it with garlic powder, pepper, salt, and Italian seasoning. Then i poured tomato spaghetti sauce over it and let it simmer a bit. I then followed the instructions for the cornbread, corn, cheese, meat, and cornbread again. It was truly delicious. I was a bit worried, because I deviated alot from the original recipe, but it still turned out great! thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
Loved this dish. So easy to make. Tweeked it a little on my third time maling it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
Que rico! I made this tonight for the first time and it was a hit with la familia! I made a few changes: -Added fresh medium salsa to it -Only added chopped Chipotle peppers and no other peppers -Added black beans -Only used salt, pepper, garlic and cumin to the meat and I used chicken instead of beef It was a winner in our house and I will definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
to live for!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
recipe is a good guide to adding my own touches; came out great.Now one of my favorite dinners. Definitely season ground meat while cooking with taco seasoning, onions, peppers, garlic for a nice tasteful touch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
My husband and I really liked it, but I will have to lower the amount of poblano peppers for the kids -- it was a bit spicy. We served it with avocado slices, a bit of sour cream, and extra cheese on top.... definitely will make again, and it is definitely good as left-overs, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Korpak Bechtel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Union Lake, Michigan, USA
Living In: Milton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
This turned out great, though I tweaked it. Instead of two pounds of beef I used one pound plus black and pinto beans. I added onion and garlic and jalepeno (I had no chipotle). I used only one package of corn bread, which was plenty. It turned out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
Loved this recipe! I substituted the chipotle pepper with 1/2 tsp. of chili powder and 1/2 tsp. of cayenne pepper. Not too spicy - even my young kids ate it! I used a chipotle salsa from a jar and it really added a lot of flavor! I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tamale Pie

See the simple secret to this 5-star ground beef casserole.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States