Hot Tamale Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Amazing, very tasty. There are all kinds of ways to change it up but it's fantastic just the way it is. THANKS AGAIN CHEF JOHN!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by baketeer

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Made this last week and my family is already requesting it again. It was so fast and easy to put together. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hourglasswman
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Family loves it. I have made it several times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
I've been wanting to make it for a long time and finally got around to it. I did make a few changes because of the poblano peppers. I cook with them alot so I cooked those first along with the onions to ensure they were tender. I don't like chewing on onions or peppers if they are in my food. Then I added the meat and continued to cook everything, towards the end I added a small bunch of fresh chopped cilantro . I also used my own salsa recipe: 5slrings cilantro, 2 large tomatoes, 3 cloves garlic, 1tbs chx stock half onion 1 jalapeño boiled and blended. It made the meat taste more authentic and less ' Taco Bell '- but I'm Mexican- American so I know how to play with those flavores. I also added 2 tsp of canned chipotle juice instead of the dried stuff. My husband loved it and wants me to add it to the rotation. Oh! If you like a crunchy topped casserole, keep the cheese in the top mix, I like mine softer/ it's so I kept the cheese out and just sprinkled it under and over the meat then spread the jiffy over that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chukluvr
Home Town: Ontario, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Excellent recipe! I added onion and garlic to the meat while browning, drained off some of the fat, added in the poblano peppers (sometimes incorrectly called pasilla chiles in the grocery stores I found out), oregano, salt, 1 can of Rotel drained and thick and chunky roasted garlic salsa to equal 2 cups. I used 1 tablespoon taco seasoning instead of the ground chipotle . Simmered for about 10 min and stirred in some black olives and chopped fresh cilantro. I followed the recipe, using more cheese than called for and mine was done baking in 45 minutes. Served with sour cream and salsa on top and on the side , a simple salad of iceberg and romaine lettuces , chopped tomatoes and Catalina dressing. We all loved it and can't wait to eat the rest tonight! This recipe is a keeper! My first time making a recipe by Chef John and it was great. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by badkitty1116

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Very good but I thought the top part was slightly dry. Don't know if it was because I used egg beaters instead? But my boyfriend loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angall7

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mattoon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I'm sure this is amazing as written but I felt I needed to make it a bit more heart healthy. 1st I used 1# 93% ground beef, drained and rinsed (don't worry, the wet ingredients will make it moist enough). Mixed a can of fat free refried beans in along with fresh purchased store-made salsa and the spices. Added a 4 oz can of sliced olives as a layer. In the corn bread, I used egg substitute and skim milk. Used reduced fat cheeses. We enjoyed this dish quite a lot. Froze half since it was just for my DH and me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Tried this tonight - very good! We will have it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Branford, Florida, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
I cut the recipie in half and baked in an 8 X 8 casserole dish, those were the only changes I made. It turned out so delicious and by using Chef John's techniques mine even looked presentable like his! This is such an easy recipie, watched the video a few times to give myself confidence that I could make it. Thank you Chef John, I love your sense of humor about food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 209) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tamale Pie

See the simple secret to this 5-star ground beef casserole.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States