Hot Tamale Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
I followed the recipe as written. The only difference I made was I cranked up the heat to 375 deg. and it baked up fine in about 25 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLYSMAMA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2015
I wish I could score this dish higher than 5. The sweet of the cornbread, the spice of the meat mixture, WOW! My husband is still raving about this one. Thanks again for another winner Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2015
Excellent easy meal. I love how versatile it is. I would suggest to make sure you drain the grease from the meat before adding all your seasonings - The corn bread will soak it all up if you don't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by French QT

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
I found this dish to be a little too sweet for my taste. I usually give CJ recipes a 5 star but disappointed with this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
Liked this recipe, but made some adjustments. Added 1 small can of tomato sauce instead of the salsa, added can of green chilis, and sliced olives, plus some taco seasoning mix. I only added the one box of cornbread mix with the cheese over the top of the meat mixture, and baked this for 30 minutes at 350 degrees. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
I made this last night and it was very good! My daughter LOVED it! I tweaked the recipe slightly because I didn't have Pablano Peppers. I used a can of Chopped Green Chiles and 1/2 can of Chopped Jalapeno Peppers instead, and it came out really good. I will definitely make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alton, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Saint Joseph, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
Fantastic! I followed others with the Rotel instead of Salsa & cooked the meat with some onion. I halved the recipe & made in an 8x8 pan (i divided the 1 box of cornbread after I mixed it up). Topped it with sour cream & some chopped cilantro. The cilantro really took it up a notch. I used a full can of Rotel plus a little salsa. The dried chipotle chile pepper really added a wonderful smokey flavor. I do not think taco seasoning is necessary as others stated in reviews. That would take away from the flavor of the chipotle. I was concerned about the little thin layer of cornbread on top & bottom but it rose beautifully & was just the perfect amount. My husband requested this recipe be in the weekly rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alisha Bodi Wolfe

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
Good recipe. I did make some minor changes, but just based on history/personal preferences.(Used mild Rotel, instead of salsa and peppers, just Mexican cheese blend , taco seasoning, putting a tablespoon of oil in cornbread mix). If you're looking for something just like the 1st picture, then may want to consider halving cornbread, or just using one box, perhaps in a 9X9" pan. Ended up more bready than anticipated, but still good. Also the "layering" part was a little confusing as a 1st time preparer. Bake time ended up being only about 35 minutes. Other than that pretty tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2015
Very yummy recipe. I cut it half and made it in an 8 x 8 pan. Other than that I followed the recipe exactly. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2015
This was a great and easy dinner. It's only the two of us so I cut the recipe in half and cooked it in a smaller dish. We are not pepper people so I left them out but added a 1/4 of an onion, a package of taco seasoning and a pinch of red pepper flakes. I also used ground turkey instead of beef. Turned out great. Only used 1 box of muffin mix also. Thanks for the recipe and all the ideas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 255) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tamale Pie

See the simple secret to this 5-star ground beef casserole.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States