Hot Tamale Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
Smelled wonderful and tasted great! This will be a regular at our home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
Another wonderful recipe from Chef John. My son-in-law ate himself into a food coma......... :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by darlasue
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
Great recipe, and I made it gluten free! Here's how: instead of the Jiffy corn bread mix, buy two boxes of gluten free Bisquick (available at most stores now - either right next to the regular Bisquick or in the hippie area with all of the gluten free stuff). Make the recipe on the back for the biscuits and put one batch on the bottom, and a second batch on the top (with the cheese and all). Voila! Everything else in there is already gluten free. I ended up cooking for 40 mins because the top was already browning nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
we had this for dinner tonight and i modified with what i had at home. used bell pepper instead of poblano and cayenne in place of chipotle and a can of mexi-corn instead of frozen we loved it. Allison
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
Johnsonville Sausage challenged some of us to do a makeover of a recipe substituting Italian Sausage for one of the ingredients. I selected this recipe, and subbed Hot Italian Sausage for half of the ground beef which really elevated the flavor. That hot sausage combined with the poblanos was a winning combination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
It tasted great! This can easily feed 5 people, my husband and I not even half of the dish. Things I would do differently: I added onions to the menu and cooked the meat with the onions and green beans fully in a skillet before adding the salsa. I also added parsley to the salsa. I used just a palm-full of each cheese to the corn mixture then barely coated the meat with cheese while in the pan...next time I am going to add a lot more cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha Yauger

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
This was AMAZING! I expected a throwback to the 80s but it was bright and spicy, with plenty of heat but the corn cooled it down some. We served it with some Trader Joe's Enchilada sauce on top - yogurt might have been a better idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Honest Omnivore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
I really enjoyed this recipe but I tweaked it a bit. I didn't add any peppers (the individuals I work with can't handle any heat), but added some cumin and ground coriander to the meat. Instead of adding the corn as a separate layer, I cooked the corn in the meat mixture and tossed in a small can of black olives from the pantry. For the top layer of the corn muffin mix, I added some diced green onions along with the cheese. For condiments, we used salsa and sour cream. The muffin layers had the right amount of moistness and I think the brand of muffin mix really helped the dish (I used Famous Dave's). Will definitely make again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
This is a dish I will be making again. The only thing I didn't add was the oregano and I used my homemade salsa. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thereagors1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mount Morris, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 219) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

How to Make Tamale Pie

See the simple secret to this 5-star ground beef casserole.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States