Hot Tamale Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Very good but I thought the top part was slightly dry. Don't know if it was because I used egg beaters instead? But my boyfriend loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Diddles Allen

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mattoon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I'm sure this is amazing as written but I felt I needed to make it a bit more heart healthy. 1st I used 1# 93% ground beef, drained and rinsed (don't worry, the wet ingredients will make it moist enough). Mixed a can of fat free refried beans in along with fresh purchased store-made salsa and the spices. Added a 4 oz can of sliced olives as a layer. In the corn bread, I used egg substitute and skim milk. Used reduced fat cheeses. We enjoyed this dish quite a lot. Froze half since it was just for my DH and me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Tried this tonight - very good! We will have it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Branford, Florida, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
I cut the recipie in half and baked in an 8 X 8 casserole dish, those were the only changes I made. It turned out so delicious and by using Chef John's techniques mine even looked presentable like his! This is such an easy recipie, watched the video a few times to give myself confidence that I could make it. Thank you Chef John, I love your sense of humor about food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
One of the best new dishes I've made in a long time. I did change 2 things though, I did not add the corn as that just didn't sound appetizing to me and instead of chipotle powder, I added about 3 whole canned chipotles- turned out awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
This recipe is a keeper. I only added a little garlic and some red chili powder (we like spicy things). Everyone at our group loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Forgot the jar of salsa, the chippotle ground dried pepper was not able to located in the supermarket. The corn, forgot to put it on top of the ground beef, any way it is on top of the corn muffin mix. I found one box with the ingridients was too soupy, added another box and was much firm as it looked in the film. Another smaller batch with the corn muffing mix, replaced with spinich, with beef chowmein from last night, tobasco sauce, onion salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Casselberry, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
excellent i used ground turkey plus a few ideas from other's no salsa but a little fajita sesoning here and there. a great base to work from.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Will make again with more spice :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Harrell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 252) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tamale Pie

See the simple secret to this 5-star ground beef casserole.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States