Hot Tamale Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
One of the best new dishes I've made in a long time. I did change 2 things though, I did not add the corn as that just didn't sound appetizing to me and instead of chipotle powder, I added about 3 whole canned chipotles- turned out awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
This recipe is a keeper. I only added a little garlic and some red chili powder (we like spicy things). Everyone at our group loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Forgot the jar of salsa, the chippotle ground dried pepper was not able to located in the supermarket. The corn, forgot to put it on top of the ground beef, any way it is on top of the corn muffin mix. I found one box with the ingridients was too soupy, added another box and was much firm as it looked in the film. Another smaller batch with the corn muffing mix, replaced with spinich, with beef chowmein from last night, tobasco sauce, onion salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Casselberry, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
excellent i used ground turkey plus a few ideas from other's no salsa but a little fajita sesoning here and there. a great base to work from.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Will make again with more spice :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Harrell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
I cut this recipe in half for just the two of us. This was delicious and so easy to fix. I did put the cheese on top of the meat mixture instead of in the cornbread topping. I will try it with ground turkey the next time, and add a can of black beans with the meat mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
So disappointing! We thought it was dry and lacked flavor. Really easy but not something to get excited about at all.... Won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Tried this recipe today for New Years Day dinner and it was delicious! It was something different for us and fun to try. My husband thought it was great also. I made my own cornbread instead of using Jiffy. The recipe is from allrecipes called "Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread." It is an easy way to make cornbread and very tasty. I followed some other people's reviews and used only 1 pound of beef and added black beans. I also chopped up some onion and garlic, which I added when I added the peppers. I think the recipe is great as is but am also excited to try some variations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Excellent! Substituted 2 cans Rotel, doubled the cheese, added about half can of black beans. My daughter, who doesn't like spicy food, loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dave Bobke

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
My husband gave this 5 stars and requested I add it to my regular repertoire. Very delicious. I used 1 lb ground turkey and 1 lb ground chorizo for my meats. I used corn and black bean salsa to add a little fiber. Even my picky 7 year old nephew loved it. It was a bit spicy but we like it that way. Thanks, Chef John!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Oak Park, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 237) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tamale Pie

See the simple secret to this 5-star ground beef casserole.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States