Hot Tamale Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
I made this because it looked like it was similar to what my mom made when we were kids, but her recipe was sweet, so this wasn't it. I can't really rate this fairly because I'm not sure I followed it exactly. I had chipotle chili powder, and I'm not sure if that's the same thing as just chipotle powder. Also, since I halved the recipe, I skipped having the corn bread on the bottom, and just spread the mixture with the cheese over the meat mixture. It only baked for about 25 minutes that way. Overall, it was much spicier than I would have liked, and it could have been that the chipotle chili powder wasn't the right spice. It had sort of a strange taste. Probably won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
My wife and I enjoyed this recipe. I used more cheese than the recipe called for, and instead of using dried chipotle pepper, I used a can of whole chipotle pepper in adobo sauce. I think that this definitely helped to bring out more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
Just OK
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amonia

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
Didn't have poblanos so I added a couple of minced jalapenos, forgot the corn. All cheese inside and used 1.2 of ground turkey instead. Added a chopped up red bell and lots of black olive slices. Went back and forth trying to decide on half or full recipe. Went with full and so glad I did. LOVED it. And as I like to do, I drizzled with honey before eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
I found this to be a good meal for a change. Nothing I would rush to make again, however my son loved it. I used hot & sweet peppers from my garden instead of the poblanos and I decreased the chipotle pepper to 1/4 tsp. because I knew it would be too hot for my family. It was perfect and still had a kick. I also googled homemade Jiffy corn bread mix and used that instead of the box mix and I subbed the white sugar in the recipe for maple syrup (always looking for ways to make recipes healthier).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
This recipe is so good! I think roasting the poblano peppers & removing the skin prior to adding to the meat made a big difference in the flavor. Otherwise I followed the recipe to a tee and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
This was excellent, aside from an ingredient or 2 I didnt have. Didnt find any corn muffin mix so I jsut winged it and used pie crust !!! its awesome :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2013
it is a keeper but i use ground chicken instead of ground beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
i love it , i did some changes , i used a round pie pan , i used only 1 box of muffin mix , garlic and onions and i cover the meat with corn too .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Yessenia Kissel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: River Ridge, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
next time make a half recipe very good :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 207) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tamale Pie

See the simple secret to this 5-star ground beef casserole.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States