Hot Tamale Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
to live for!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
recipe is a good guide to adding my own touches; came out great.Now one of my favorite dinners. Definitely season ground meat while cooking with taco seasoning, onions, peppers, garlic for a nice tasteful touch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
My husband and I really liked it, but I will have to lower the amount of poblano peppers for the kids -- it was a bit spicy. We served it with avocado slices, a bit of sour cream, and extra cheese on top.... definitely will make again, and it is definitely good as left-overs, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Korpak Bechtel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Union Lake, Michigan, USA
Living In: Milton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
This turned out great, though I tweaked it. Instead of two pounds of beef I used one pound plus black and pinto beans. I added onion and garlic and jalepeno (I had no chipotle). I used only one package of corn bread, which was plenty. It turned out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
Loved this recipe! I substituted the chipotle pepper with 1/2 tsp. of chili powder and 1/2 tsp. of cayenne pepper. Not too spicy - even my young kids ate it! I used a chipotle salsa from a jar and it really added a lot of flavor! I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
My husband is mexican and he hated that this was called Tamale Pie, but he certainly did NOT complain after biting into the first bite! My family enjoyed this meal, asking me to keep it around to make again. We added some HOT Salsa, and it wasn't spicy enough, going to amp it up some more next time. Otherwise wonderful. I did not include the peppers and I used a Mixed Vegetable mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
I did make some additions to the recipe. (Hopefully not too many. :) ) I added Rotel tomatoes instead of salsa, 2 cans of corn (undrained), 2 cans of pinto beans (drained and rinsed). I could not get poblano peppers, so I substituted anaheim peppers. I also added cumin, taco seasoning, chopped onion and minced garlic. I also cut the cooking time to 40 minutes at 350. It turned out very nicely...even my daughter liked it (she always complains of spicy food). Will definitely put this in the rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
This was really good. It was a little dry so I might add a little more salsa the next time, but the flavor is excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
I live abroad so having the muffin mix was no good, but I have a wonderful corn bread recipe I used instead. Corn bread with cheddar cheese in it was divine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 207) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tamale Pie

See the simple secret to this 5-star ground beef casserole.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States