Hot Tamale Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Outstanding! We went back for seconds and thirds. Our local store did not have Poblano peppers so I substituted a combination of green bell peppers and Jalapeno peppers. Also used Pace Picante sauce instead of Salsa, so it was pretty spicy! Other than that, I followed recipe exactly. I will definitely make this recipe again. Thank you Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
Thanks for the recipe Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
I too added a few extra spices to the meat while it was cooking to get the taste i wanted and it turned out great, thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pauline Beasley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
I love this recipe, I have made at least 2 dozen times. I make it vegetarian, so I substitute the meat for morning star grillers. Highly recommended!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by supersofrito

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
Very good. Mine was a bit dry, think I cooked the meat mixture too long thinking the bottom would get soggy, next time I won't do that. Easy to make and a lot for just my husband and me. We have eaten this for three days now, doubt that he would want 'the same old thing again!! We would have plenty for tonight and I also froze some of it. Wouldn't he be thrilled if I thawed it out a couple days and have MORE of it? LOL... I'll wait a couple weeks...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Widgetie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Georgetown, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
Really good dish makes a lot but doesn't keep the best for leftovers cornbread dries out
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gretchen Ramsey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kevin W.
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Followed recipe as written without making any changes and it came out perfectly. family and friends enjoyed it and i'm sure they will ask for it again. Next time i may add some jalapenos in place of some of the poblano pepper for a little bit of kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kevin W.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hellier, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
This was fantastic! I made it as written with the exception of substituting Rotel for salsa. It wasn't just yummy, it also looked like the picture. Bonus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber G

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
With other recipes, I often base my approach on the reviews as much as the original recipe, but not when the recipe comes from Chef John. :-) I followed it as written, except I used ground pork (we're not beef eaters). The feedback was not the usual, "yeah, this is pretty good" that I am accustomed to with casseroles. This was described as "killer" and "the best". Definitely a keeper, but I knew that before I started. I have learned so much from Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LibertyBelle78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davisburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 246) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tamale Pie

See the simple secret to this 5-star ground beef casserole.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States