Hot Tamale Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
I did not care for this recipe. The cornbread mix was too sweet, the "chili" part was too bland, the topping was browned and cooked in only 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kay Lyn Evans

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
I made some changes, but the basis of this recipe is a great idea,so 4 stars! First, I used homemade cornbread batter. It doesn't get as dry as the boxed stuff. Second, I added a can of black beans and some taco seasoning (instead of the spices) to my meat mixture. I've made it with a few other changes as well (no cheese, extra veg, etc) but the above changes were the ones we liked best. This recipe is one of those that you can adapt to what you have in your cupboards and fridge that day. I know it's a keeper when I actually print the recipe for my book, and with this one I did just that! Thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
This recipe was excellent just the way it was. I think it was the chipotle seasoning
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
This was really, really good! We loved it. We did have to sub diced green chilies in place of the poblanos because the store was out of poblanos, but nevertheless, a very tasty recipe and we are saving it for future use!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xenogirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by misswillco
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
I added some jalapeño bacon to the ground beef. Also some extra spices .(we like it hot) this is an amazing addition to our weeknight dinner menu! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misswillco

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
Easy & yummy! I used some leftover shredded pork, skipped the salsa, and added taco seasoning and water instead (cheaper). Baked for less time - about 45 minutes. My 18-year-old son proclaimed it "magical"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrsmegnolia
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
There are so many possibilities that would make this dish perfect! I loved the sweetness of the corn muffin mixed with the peppery spices and salt in the meat. Very good! It was definitely delicious but, I know I could make it better suit my families tastes. I pretty much followed the recipe aside from adding a little garlic, cumin, and onion powder. It wasn't more than a pinch of each spice that I'd added and that's all it needed. I tasted the filling and I felt it needed more flavor. Adding a bit more cheese next time might be a possibility as well, because it was the tiniest bit dry this time around. I wonder if there is something you could add to take some of the dryness away. Maybe an extra egg in the bread mix? I don't know. What I do know, is that I'll definit make this again. You just can't go wrong with any of Chef Johns recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrsmegnolia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
Followed this recipe except for the chipotle, as I do not like Chipotle. I have to admit that I was a bit skeptical at first thinking this was not going to be very good, but I couldn't have been more wrong. This dish is fabulous. I did have to use Anaheim peppers since the market did not have poblano. But other than that it was very good, I think I might have used more peppers and spices than what it called for but this gave it a very good taste. Will make this gain
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RanDee Walton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
Loved this! So did everyone else in my family. I replaced the salt and chipotle peppers with two cubes of Knox chipotle bouillon, because that was what I had, and I also used canned corn, well drained. Still awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 21-30 (of 248) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Tamale Pie

See the simple secret to this 5-star ground beef casserole.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States