Hot Tamale Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2015
This was a great and easy dinner. It's only the two of us so I cut the recipe in half and cooked it in a smaller dish. We are not pepper people so I left them out but added a 1/4 of an onion, a package of taco seasoning and a pinch of red pepper flakes. I also used ground turkey instead of beef. Turned out great. Only used 1 box of muffin mix also. Thanks for the recipe and all the ideas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2015
It's missing taco seasoning, add it to the meat. Taste like Cheesecake Factory 's corn cakes!YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
This recipe is amazing. I changed things up a bit.... I used a bag of frozen mexican vegetables and added them to the beef when it was just about cooked. I used Rot-tel instead of salsa and minced garlic. Then to put an added spin on it.... I cubed up Philadelphia Cream Cheese and placed it on top of my meat mixture before adding the top layer or cornbread. It gave it so much rich flavor that I will definetly make it like this again. Fresh chopped cilantro with sour cream when served as well!! Very Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
We didn't care for this one. Tried the Cheesy Cornbread Casserole from this site, we give that one *****! Plus, it's much easier - a win/win!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by simp

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
Delicious comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
This recipe was a fabulous guide! I did not have poblano peppers or chipotle peppers. I used instead Adams reserve Southwest rub found at H-E-B stores.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happygirlrae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michael G
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
Great comfort food dish. I did not use peppers in this dish since the kids don't like peppers. Tastes great with a little hot sauce on it, some sour cream and a cold beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wantagh, New York, USA
Living In: Seaford, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
My whole family loved it! I substituted two 7 oz cans of Market Pantry Mild Diced Green Chiles, drained for the poblano peppers, as my wife does not care for them. I also substituted the ground dried chipotle peppers for Victoria Taylor's Smoky Paprika Chipotle Seasoning. And lastly, I used Italian Seasoning instead of oregano. I recommend reducing salsa from 16 oz to 12 oz so that the meat mixture isn't watery, which I learned the hard way. This was a huge success and fed the family for several meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
I did not care for this recipe. The cornbread mix was too sweet, the "chili" part was too bland, the topping was browned and cooked in only 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kay Lyn Evans

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
I made some changes, but the basis of this recipe is a great idea,so 4 stars! First, I used homemade cornbread batter. It doesn't get as dry as the boxed stuff. Second, I added a can of black beans and some taco seasoning (instead of the spices) to my meat mixture. I've made it with a few other changes as well (no cheese, extra veg, etc) but the above changes were the ones we liked best. This recipe is one of those that you can adapt to what you have in your cupboards and fridge that day. I know it's a keeper when I actually print the recipe for my book, and with this one I did just that! Thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 246) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tamale Pie

See the simple secret to this 5-star ground beef casserole.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States