Hot Tamale Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
It tasted great! This can easily feed 5 people, my husband and I not even half of the dish. Things I would do differently: I added onions to the menu and cooked the meat with the onions and green beans fully in a skillet before adding the salsa. I also added parsley to the salsa. I used just a palm-full of each cheese to the corn mixture then barely coated the meat with cheese while in the pan...next time I am going to add a lot more cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha Yauger

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
This was AMAZING! I expected a throwback to the 80s but it was bright and spicy, with plenty of heat but the corn cooled it down some. We served it with some Trader Joe's Enchilada sauce on top - yogurt might have been a better idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Honest Omnivore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
I really enjoyed this recipe but I tweaked it a bit. I didn't add any peppers (the individuals I work with can't handle any heat), but added some cumin and ground coriander to the meat. Instead of adding the corn as a separate layer, I cooked the corn in the meat mixture and tossed in a small can of black olives from the pantry. For the top layer of the corn muffin mix, I added some diced green onions along with the cheese. For condiments, we used salsa and sour cream. The muffin layers had the right amount of moistness and I think the brand of muffin mix really helped the dish (I used Famous Dave's). Will definitely make again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
This is a dish I will be making again. The only thing I didn't add was the oregano and I used my homemade salsa. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thereagors1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mount Morris, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Outstanding! We went back for seconds and thirds. Our local store did not have Poblano peppers so I substituted a combination of green bell peppers and Jalapeno peppers. Also used Pace Picante sauce instead of Salsa, so it was pretty spicy! Other than that, I followed recipe exactly. I will definitely make this recipe again. Thank you Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
My Mom always made Tamale Pie Like this using leftover Pepper Steak with sliced bellpepper & sliced onion, and leftover taco meat; then added Macoroni And Cheese and called it Tamale Pie. It is a family favorite . Thanks for the recipe Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
I too added a few extra spices to the meat while it was cooking to get the taste i wanted and it turned out great, thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pauline Beasley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
I love this recipe, I have made at least 2 dozen times. I make it vegetarian, so I substitute the meat for morning star grillers. Highly recommended!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by supersofrito

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
Very good. Mine was a bit dry, think I cooked the meat mixture too long thinking the bottom would get soggy, next time I won't do that. Easy to make and a lot for just my husband and me. We have eaten this for three days now, doubt that he would want 'the same old thing again!! We would have plenty for tonight and I also froze some of it. Wouldn't he be thrilled if I thawed it out a couple days and have MORE of it? LOL... I'll wait a couple weeks...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Widgetie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Georgetown, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 223) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Tamale Pie

See the simple secret to this 5-star ground beef casserole.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States