Hot Tamale Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
I didn't see in the recipe or see anyone's review mention draining the grease off of the ground beef. If you are using regular ground beef and not the super lean ground beef, you would surely have to drain off the grease, wouldn't you? Shouldn't the recipe either state extra lean ground beef or add "drain the cooked ground beef"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
Made this vegan with vegan cheese and soy crumbles...no egg... Delightful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Amazing, very tasty. There are all kinds of ways to change it up but it's fantastic just the way it is. THANKS AGAIN CHEF JOHN!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by baketeer

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Made this last week and my family is already requesting it again. It was so fast and easy to put together. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hourglasswman
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Family loves it. I have made it several times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
I've been wanting to make it for a long time and finally got around to it. I did make a few changes because of the poblano peppers. I cook with them alot so I cooked those first along with the onions to ensure they were tender. I don't like chewing on onions or peppers if they are in my food. Then I added the meat and continued to cook everything, towards the end I added a small bunch of fresh chopped cilantro . I also used my own salsa recipe: 5slrings cilantro, 2 large tomatoes, 3 cloves garlic, 1tbs chx stock half onion 1 jalapeño boiled and blended. It made the meat taste more authentic and less ' Taco Bell '- but I'm Mexican- American so I know how to play with those flavores. I also added 2 tsp of canned chipotle juice instead of the dried stuff. My husband loved it and wants me to add it to the rotation. Oh! If you like a crunchy topped casserole, keep the cheese in the top mix, I like mine softer/ it's so I kept the cheese out and just sprinkled it under and over the meat then spread the jiffy over that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chukluvr
Home Town: Ontario, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Excellent recipe! I added onion and garlic to the meat while browning, drained off some of the fat, added in the poblano peppers (sometimes incorrectly called pasilla chiles in the grocery stores I found out), oregano, salt, 1 can of Rotel drained and thick and chunky roasted garlic salsa to equal 2 cups. I used 1 tablespoon taco seasoning instead of the ground chipotle . Simmered for about 10 min and stirred in some black olives and chopped fresh cilantro. I followed the recipe, using more cheese than called for and mine was done baking in 45 minutes. Served with sour cream and salsa on top and on the side , a simple salad of iceberg and romaine lettuces , chopped tomatoes and Catalina dressing. We all loved it and can't wait to eat the rest tonight! This recipe is a keeper! My first time making a recipe by Chef John and it was great. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by badkitty1116

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Very good but I thought the top part was slightly dry. Don't know if it was because I used egg beaters instead? But my boyfriend loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angall7

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mattoon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I'm sure this is amazing as written but I felt I needed to make it a bit more heart healthy. 1st I used 1# 93% ground beef, drained and rinsed (don't worry, the wet ingredients will make it moist enough). Mixed a can of fat free refried beans in along with fresh purchased store-made salsa and the spices. Added a 4 oz can of sliced olives as a layer. In the corn bread, I used egg substitute and skim milk. Used reduced fat cheeses. We enjoyed this dish quite a lot. Froze half since it was just for my DH and me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tamale Pie

See the simple secret to this 5-star ground beef casserole.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States