Hot Tamale Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
Excellent. Used a green pepper instead of poblano and used a can of rotel in place of salsa. Served with sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Goodland, Kansas, USA
Living In: Newnan, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
This was the tastiest thing I've had in a while, and very simple to prepare! I doubled the recipe and froze one, so I look forward to enjoying this meal again soon. What's nice is that you can make it as spicy (or not) as you wish, depending on your salsa preference. I was cooking for my kids, so I substituted chili powder for the chipotle seasoning and used a milder salsa. I agree with some of the other reviewers on the baking time; 40 minutes was PERFECTION. Any longer and I think it would've been over-browned and dried-out. Thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
This reminds me of a dish my Mother used to make when I was a kid in the 1950s. Pure glorious comfort food, add a handfull of fresh chopped cilantro!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gmcelincoln

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mauigirl
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
I have enjoyed this recipe as written, but I had some italian sausage on hand and I decided to switch this up with an Itaian flare. I followed the recipe using a 19 oz. package of Johnsonville sweet italian sausage. Subbed Spaghetti sauce for salsa, basil and red pepper flakes for the chipotle, mozarella & parmesan for the cheddar, olives for the corn. Served with a dollop of marscapone cheese for yummy results. Try this rendition....it works!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
This was a definite do again. I took some other comments and added onion and used rotel. I cut up jalapeno peppers. Getting it into a bowl to eat my family added some salsa and it really gave it a great flavor. So easy and everybody loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
This was just okay. Nothing special. I halved the beef, and it was plenty. I only cooked it for 45 minutes and it came out pretty dry. Thankfully, I read other reviews and added tons of onion, garlic, and other spices to the beef. I also used my favorite spicy salsa, so it had a nice kick to it. But the crumbly-sweet cornbread was not style. If I tried this again I would make my own cornbread, with little or no sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
A burst of flavor...this was very good!!! My son and husband LOVED this. Not a fan of corn bread, so I divided the mixture between 2 double-crust pies and I doubled the corn and added extra cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
This recipe has become a family favorite. I did modify the recipe in this way and found no difference in the quality or taste. Instead of separating the cheeses, all the cheese can be added to the corn muffin mixes in one batch. Then use half the batch for the bottom layer, and the remaining for the top layer. The aroma and flavors are wonderful. Add a salad, Spanish rice, or even a green bean casserole and this makes a great meal. Mimi
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
I made this tamale pie for dinner last week and I did not have any left overs. My family loved it, especially my step son...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Che Che

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
Didn't care for this at all ... The meat "layer' was fine but should have used my brain and NOT used a corn muffin mix ... Not a fan of sweet cornbread, which wrecked this dish for me ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 216) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Tamale Pie

See the simple secret to this 5-star ground beef casserole.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States