Hot Tamale Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
This was super. I made it as written. Very flavorful. I was afraid the meat mixture was going to be too spicy (it was very spicy upon tasting) but the double-layer of cornbread cooled things down. I did think that the corn was delicious so for myself, I'll add more. Also, one could probably leave out the bottom layer of cornbread for calorie reasons, but it truly was delish and I will make again, probably with the bottom cornbread intact. I could NOT find the chipotle pepper in the supermarket and ended up buying "Spicy Chipotle Chicken" spices (those little cards with the spices attached, already pre-measured) because it had the perfect amount of Chipotle pepper in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara Lund Hazher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
This is so good! I halved the recipe, subbed Rotel for salsa and poblano, used taco seasoning instead of ground chipotle, and baked in 2 bread loaf pans for 40 min (until corn bread began to brown). I was very happy with the tasty results even though I forgot to throw some onions and garlic in with the browning meat as was my intention.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
Great recipe! I used my immersion blender on the salsa and peppers before adding them to the meat. My kids don't like when they can see the chunks of peppers. I also added a little taco seasoning and they gobbled it right up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
I've made this several times and my family loves it. The way we like it best is easier than the original recipe. I cook the ground beef as directed and use a 24oz jar of Pace medium picante sauce with the rest of the ingredients as listed. I add the corn to this mixture and pour it into the dish. Then I top it with the cheese, and then the two boxes of corn muffin mixture on top. Baking time is the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
This was a delicious recipe. I did alter it some because it sounded like too much pepper heat to me. I used bell pepper and cubed, pickled Jalapeno peppers and regular black pepper. It was hot enough for my family and we loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Great recipe. Fun to make. I added cilantro after spreading the meat. I doubled up on the cheese. Topped it with sour cream and avacado slices. A green salad on the side. Will make this again, for sure. Thanks Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
Yummy and family friendly! Used 1.5 lbs of ground beef and less cheese. Family really liked it. A good base recipe - next time may add pinto or black beans, a bit more spice (taco seasoning?), and top it with taco sauce, sour cream, etc. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURAMA

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
Oh, this was a good meal! And the only thing I did different was to put jalapeno peppers in place of the plabano. It was Mexican comfort food to it's finest!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacie Bonner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hornbeck, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
Delicious and so easy!! Only change was just because of supply, I used Cilantro instead of Chipolte. This is a great quick supper. Also used picante sauce that was garlic and onion flavored.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tamale Pie

See the simple secret to this 5-star ground beef casserole.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States