Hot Tamale Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
This recipe was a fabulous guide! I did not have poblano peppers or chipotle peppers. I used instead Adams reserve Southwest rub found at H-E-B stores.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happygirlrae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michael G
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
Great comfort food dish. I did not use peppers in this dish since the kids don't like peppers. Tastes great with a little hot sauce on it, some sour cream and a cold beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wantagh, New York, USA
Living In: Seaford, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
My whole family loved it! I substituted two 7 oz cans of Market Pantry Mild Diced Green Chiles, drained for the poblano peppers, as my wife does not care for them. I also substituted the ground dried chipotle peppers for Victoria Taylor's Smoky Paprika Chipotle Seasoning. And lastly, I used Italian Seasoning instead of oregano. I recommend reducing salsa from 16 oz to 12 oz so that the meat mixture isn't watery, which I learned the hard way. This was a huge success and fed the family for several meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
This was awful. The jiffy cornbread mix was too sweet, the "chili" part was too bland, the topping was browned and cooked in only 20 minutes, we didn't like it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kay Lyn Evans

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
I made some changes, but the basis of this recipe is a great idea,so 4 stars! First, I used homemade cornbread batter. It doesn't get as dry as the boxed stuff. Second, I added a can of black beans and some taco seasoning (instead of the spices) to my meat mixture. I've made it with a few other changes as well (no cheese, extra veg, etc) but the above changes were the ones we liked best. This recipe is one of those that you can adapt to what you have in your cupboards and fridge that day. I know it's a keeper when I actually print the recipe for my book, and with this one I did just that! Thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
I don't know what the other reviewers were smoking because this recipe was excellent just the way it was. I think it was the chipotle seasoning
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
This was really, really good! We loved it. We did have to sub diced green chilies in place of the poblanos because the store was out of poblanos, but nevertheless, a very tasty recipe and we are saving it for future use!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xenogirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by misswillco
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
I added some jalapeño bacon to the ground beef. Also some extra spices .(we like it hot) this is an amazing addition to our weeknight dinner menu! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misswillco

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
Easy & yummy! I used some leftover shredded pork, skipped the salsa, and added taco seasoning and water instead (cheaper). Baked for less time - about 45 minutes. My 18-year-old son proclaimed it "magical"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrsmegnolia
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
There are so many possibilities that would make this dish perfect! I loved the sweetness of the corn muffin mixed with the peppery spices and salt in the meat. Very good! It was definitely delicious but, I know I could make it better suit my families tastes. I pretty much followed the recipe aside from adding a little garlic, cumin, and onion powder. It wasn't more than a pinch of each spice that I'd added and that's all it needed. I tasted the filling and I felt it needed more flavor. Adding a bit more cheese next time might be a possibility as well, because it was the tiniest bit dry this time around. I wonder if there is something you could add to take some of the dryness away. Maybe an extra egg in the bread mix? I don't know. What I do know, is that I'll definit make this again. You just can't go wrong with any of Chef Johns recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrsmegnolia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 234) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tamale Pie

See the simple secret to this 5-star ground beef casserole.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States