Hot Tamale Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Mrsmegnolia
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
There are so many possibilities that would make this dish perfect! I loved the sweetness of the corn muffin mixed with the peppery spices and salt in the meat. Very good! It was definitely delicious but, I know I could make it better suit my families tastes. I pretty much followed the recipe aside from adding a little garlic, cumin, and onion powder. It wasn't more than a pinch of each spice that I'd added and that's all it needed. I tasted the filling and I felt it needed more flavor. Adding a bit more cheese next time might be a possibility as well, because it was the tiniest bit dry this time around. I wonder if there is something you could add to take some of the dryness away. Maybe an extra egg in the bread mix? I don't know. What I do know, is that I'll definit make this again. You just can't go wrong with any of Chef Johns recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrsmegnolia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
Followed this recipe except for the chipotle, as I do not like Chipotle. I have to admit that I was a bit skeptical at first thinking this was not going to be very good, but I couldn't have been more wrong. This dish is fabulous. I did have to use Anaheim peppers since the market did not have poblano. But other than that it was very good, I think I might have used more peppers and spices than what it called for but this gave it a very good taste. Will make this gain
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RanDee Walton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
Loved this! So did everyone else in my family. I replaced the salt and chipotle peppers with two cubes of Knox chipotle bouillon, because that was what I had, and I also used canned corn, well drained. Still awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
Very good. There were some ingredients that I didn't have so I compromised .. I used a small 4oz can of green chilies, half of a 12oz jar of roasted red peppers, half of a 24 oz jar of salsa, canned corn instead of frozen and my homemade taco seasoning .. I also used all cheddar cheese.. Will make again but add some chopped onion, garlic and maybe even some black beans to the mixture .. served with refried beans on the side and tossed green salad
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisajoy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Renton, Washington, USA
Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
I loved the idea of it, but mine didn't turn out as well as I'd like. It seemed the corn bread was too thin in this large of a dish, so it browned too quickly and made the ingredients dry. I'm not a corn fan, so left that out, but might try a corn salsa or creamed corn in the bottom corn bread layer. Smaller dish and more experiments with the meat center. I'd like to try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
Smelled wonderful and tasted great! This will be a regular at our home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
Another wonderful recipe from Chef John. My son-in-law ate himself into a food coma......... :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by darlasue
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
Great recipe, and I made it gluten free! Here's how: instead of the Jiffy corn bread mix, buy two boxes of gluten free Bisquick (available at most stores now - either right next to the regular Bisquick or in the hippie area with all of the gluten free stuff). Make the recipe on the back for the biscuits and put one batch on the bottom, and a second batch on the top (with the cheese and all). Voila! Everything else in there is already gluten free. I ended up cooking for 40 mins because the top was already browning nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison Page

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 225) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Tamale Pie

See the simple secret to this 5-star ground beef casserole.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States