Hot Tamale Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Kevin W.
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Followed recipe as written without making any changes and it came out perfectly. family and friends enjoyed it and i'm sure they will ask for it again. Next time i may add some jalapenos in place of some of the poblano pepper for a little bit of kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kevin W.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hellier, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
This was fantastic! I made it as written with the exception of substituting Rotel for salsa. It wasn't just yummy, it also looked like the picture. Bonus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber G

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
With other recipes, I often base my approach on the reviews as much as the original recipe, but not when the recipe comes from Chef John. :-) I followed it as written, except I used ground pork (we're not beef eaters). The feedback was not the usual, "yeah, this is pretty good" that I am accustomed to with casseroles. This was described as "killer" and "the best". Definitely a keeper, but I knew that before I started. I have learned so much from Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LibertyBelle78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davisburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2014
My BFF tried it with the black beans and rotel. OMG! It was the best simple dish that was so flavorful and tasty that I wanted to wrap up in it and fall asleep. That how comforting I found this dish. I'm making it tonight. So good, it makes you want to slap your Momma. :-) Has anyone tried it with ground turkey?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
This was SOOO good. Did everything exactly as written only used slightly less peppers in it. I am making this all the time now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilikefrenchies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by nadiajc
Reviewed: May 8, 2014
Easy and delicious. Added cumin, onion, used green bell pepper, jalapeño pepper, small can of diced chilies, bag of shredded Mexican mix cheese, added the frozen corn to the meat mixture. It was a hit at the pot luck luncheon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ronnie johnson
Reviewed: May 5, 2014
Great easy to do and it's hearty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
Whole family liked this recipe. Made a few simple changes but over all stayed with the basic recipe. Cornbread added a great taste to the Tamale Pie. We really liked it. If you like mexican food, you'll like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
Wonderful dish! I was tasked with cooking dinner for the family (17 year old) and was looking online for some simple yet tasty dishes, and found this! My family loves Mexican and Western oriented food, so this was a blast. Like many others, I used 1 1/2 cans of original spicy rotel tomatoes along with green pepper and about a cup of chopped onion and garlic. I substituted the chipotle powder with a pinch less of red pepper powder. I sauteed the peppers and onions in olive oil while the meat was cooking, and it gave it a nicer mixed taste in my opinion. Great easy meal. Hey, I've never made a full dinner like this before, so anyone could do it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
This came out really good! I couldn't find poblano peppers in the store, and since my boyfriend has a sensitive stomach anyway I ended up leaving them out. Still great, although I can see how the spice from the poblano peppers would have offset the sweetness of the cornbread a little better; I think next time I will add some serranos. I also did take it out of the oven about 10 minutes early and I'm glad I did - it was done and any longer would have completely dried it out. In any case, definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tamale Pie

See the simple secret to this 5-star ground beef casserole.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States