Hot Tamale Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
Followed this recipe except for the chipotle, as I do not like Chipotle. I have to admit that I was a bit skeptical at first thinking this was not going to be very good, but I couldn't have been more wrong. This dish is fabulous. I did have to use Anaheim peppers since the market did not have poblano. But other than that it was very good, I think I might have used more peppers and spices than what it called for but this gave it a very good taste. Will make this gain
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RanDee Walton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
Loved this! So did everyone else in my family. I replaced the salt and chipotle peppers with two cubes of Knox chipotle bouillon, because that was what I had, and I also used canned corn, well drained. Still awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
Very good. There were some ingredients that I didn't have so I compromised .. I used a small 4oz can of green chilies, half of a 12oz jar of roasted red peppers, half of a 24 oz jar of salsa, canned corn instead of frozen and my homemade taco seasoning .. I also used all cheddar cheese.. Will make again but add some chopped onion, garlic and maybe even some black beans to the mixture .. served with refried beans on the side and tossed green salad
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisajoy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Renton, Washington, USA
Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
I loved the idea of it, but mine didn't turn out as well as I'd like. It seemed the corn bread was too thin in this large of a dish, so it browned too quickly and made the ingredients dry. I'm not a corn fan, so left that out, but might try a corn salsa or creamed corn in the bottom corn bread layer. Smaller dish and more experiments with the meat center. I'd like to try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
Smelled wonderful and tasted great! This will be a regular at our home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
Another wonderful recipe from Chef John. My son-in-law ate himself into a food coma......... :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by darlasue
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
Great recipe, and I made it gluten free! Here's how: instead of the Jiffy corn bread mix, buy two boxes of gluten free Bisquick (available at most stores now - either right next to the regular Bisquick or in the hippie area with all of the gluten free stuff). Make the recipe on the back for the biscuits and put one batch on the bottom, and a second batch on the top (with the cheese and all). Voila! Everything else in there is already gluten free. I ended up cooking for 40 mins because the top was already browning nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison Page

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
we had this for dinner tonight and i modified with what i had at home. used bell pepper instead of poblano and cayenne in place of chipotle and a can of mexi-corn instead of frozen we loved it. Allison
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
Johnsonville Sausage challenged some of us to do a makeover of a recipe substituting Italian Sausage for one of the ingredients. I selected this recipe, and subbed Hot Italian Sausage for half of the ground beef which really elevated the flavor. That hot sausage combined with the poblanos was a winning combination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 223) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Tamale Pie

See the simple secret to this 5-star ground beef casserole.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States