Hot Tamale Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
I made this last night and it was very good! My daughter LOVED it! I tweaked the recipe slightly because I didn't have Pablano Peppers. I used a can of Chopped Green Chiles and 1/2 can of Chopped Jalapeno Peppers instead, and it came out really good. I will definitely make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alton, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Saint Joseph, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
Fantastic! I followed others with the Rotel instead of Salsa & cooked the meat with some onion. I halved the recipe & made in an 8x8 pan (i divided the 1 box of cornbread after I mixed it up). Topped it with sour cream & some chopped cilantro. The cilantro really took it up a notch. I used a full can of Rotel plus a little salsa. The dried chipotle chile pepper really added a wonderful smokey flavor. I do not think taco seasoning is necessary as others stated in reviews. That would take away from the flavor of the chipotle. I was concerned about the little thin layer of cornbread on top & bottom but it rose beautifully & was just the perfect amount. My husband requested this recipe be in the weekly rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alisha Bodi Wolfe

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
Good recipe. I did make some minor changes, but just based on history/personal preferences.(Used mild Rotel, instead of salsa and peppers, just Mexican cheese blend , taco seasoning, putting a tablespoon of oil in cornbread mix). If you're looking for something just like the 1st picture, then may want to consider halving cornbread, or just using one box, perhaps in a 9X9" pan. Ended up more bready than anticipated, but still good. Also the "layering" part was a little confusing as a 1st time preparer. Bake time ended up being only about 35 minutes. Other than that pretty tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2015
Very yummy recipe. I cut it half and made it in an 8 x 8 pan. Other than that I followed the recipe exactly. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2015
This was a great and easy dinner. It's only the two of us so I cut the recipe in half and cooked it in a smaller dish. We are not pepper people so I left them out but added a 1/4 of an onion, a package of taco seasoning and a pinch of red pepper flakes. I also used ground turkey instead of beef. Turned out great. Only used 1 box of muffin mix also. Thanks for the recipe and all the ideas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2015
It's missing taco seasoning, add it to the meat. Taste like Cheesecake Factory 's corn cakes!YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
This recipe is amazing. I changed things up a bit.... I used a bag of frozen mexican vegetables and added them to the beef when it was just about cooked. I used Rot-tel instead of salsa and minced garlic. Then to put an added spin on it.... I cubed up Philadelphia Cream Cheese and placed it on top of my meat mixture before adding the top layer or cornbread. It gave it so much rich flavor that I will definetly make it like this again. Fresh chopped cilantro with sour cream when served as well!! Very Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
We didn't care for this one. Tried the Cheesy Cornbread Casserole from this site, we give that one *****! Plus, it's much easier - a win/win!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by simp

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
Delicious comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
This recipe was a fabulous guide! I did not have poblano peppers or chipotle peppers. I used instead Adams reserve Southwest rub found at H-E-B stores.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happygirlrae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 240) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tamale Pie

See the simple secret to this 5-star ground beef casserole.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States