Hot Sweet Onion Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2003
This recipe is so simple and it is wonderful! I used approx. 2 cups grated onion, 2 cups shredded swiss cheese and only 1 cup mayonnaise. It is excellent if served with fresh baguette slices. Always a crowd pleaser!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claire

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2002
Great dip recipe, I suggest using a shallow dish to back it in. I used a mexican cheese mix, with white sweet onions and nacho chips to dip it, everyone loved it. I will make this again, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2000
This is a really tasty recipe. However, I did have to keep it in the oven for longer than the time specified. You just have to watch it until it really starts to brown and bubble. I made it a second time with two cups of onions and it turned out awesome. It does not require four whole onions. I used about 2 big Vidalias and it was great! Definitely a keeper! You won't be disappointed and neither will your guests!!!! Really delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2005
I've made this several times and it's always a HIT! Thanks for this great dip recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2004
Great recipe! Everyone loved it. I didn't find it greasy at all. I did put it in two small round baking dishes about 5 inches across. I used 3 medium vadallia onions. Will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring Green, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Dayton, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2005
This is a sure hit for any party! Keep this recipe at to front of your cookbook !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2005
I'm good friends with the the submitter of the recipe and the site gave the wrong proportions,much to her alarm. You make this with 2 cups mayo, 2 cups shredded swiss cheese and 2 cups vidalia or any sweet onion (NOT all those onions it says to use!!!)No wonder some people thought it was nasty. It's to die for when it's made correctly! I hope those people who had bad experiences will try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2005
A friend of mine calls this recipe "Cuppa, Cuppa, Cuppa" as in "a cup of Vidalia onions, a cup of mayonnaise, a cup of swiss cheese." (Or in this recipe's case, two cups of each!) I made this last night for Monday Night Football and it was a crowd favorite! Use a sturdy cracker for this dip - - regular tortilla chips just snapped when you scooped. Can't wait to try the leftover reheated tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOALAGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
Very quick, very easy, VERY GOOD! I took this to a party and was asked for the recipe at least 6 times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2007
I got a variation of this recipe from my good friend Karen and I love it! She uses: 3 onions, 2 c mayo, 2 c shredded swiss, 1 8 oz can choped water chestnuts, 1/4 c dry white wine, 1 minced garlic glove, 1/2 tsp hot sauce. It is a fabulous recipe. There is always a crowd hovering over this dip at parties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Artichoke and Spinach Dip II

This hot dip is loaded with spinach, artichokes, and plenty of gooey cheese!

Hot Artichoke Spinach Dip

Your guests will love this versatile, cheesy warm dip.

Hot Pizza Dip

All your favorite pizza ingredients in an easy, cheesy microwaved dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States