Hot Sweet Onion Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
I didn't measure the amount of mayo I used. When it looked right I continued with the recipe. I added a few seasonings and used asiago cheese. Big hit at our party and thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
The taste of this was good, but it was way too greasy! I had to take a turkey baster out, and suck out the grease. Probably won't make again. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2006
I used 1 cup of vidalia onions, 1 cup of mayo & 1 cup of swiss cheese. Sprinkled a little bit of parsley flakes on top before baking for a little visual appeal. This goes really well w/ corn chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
Very quick, very easy, VERY GOOD! I took this to a party and was asked for the recipe at least 6 times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2005
A friend of mine calls this recipe "Cuppa, Cuppa, Cuppa" as in "a cup of Vidalia onions, a cup of mayonnaise, a cup of swiss cheese." (Or in this recipe's case, two cups of each!) I made this last night for Monday Night Football and it was a crowd favorite! Use a sturdy cracker for this dip - - regular tortilla chips just snapped when you scooped. Can't wait to try the leftover reheated tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOALAGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2005
I'm good friends with the the submitter of the recipe and the site gave the wrong proportions,much to her alarm. You make this with 2 cups mayo, 2 cups shredded swiss cheese and 2 cups vidalia or any sweet onion (NOT all those onions it says to use!!!)No wonder some people thought it was nasty. It's to die for when it's made correctly! I hope those people who had bad experiences will try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2005
I've made this several times and it's always a HIT! Thanks for this great dip recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2005
This is a sure hit for any party! Keep this recipe at to front of your cookbook !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2004
Great recipe! Everyone loved it. I didn't find it greasy at all. I did put it in two small round baking dishes about 5 inches across. I used 3 medium vadallia onions. Will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring Green, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Dayton, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2004
I followed the suggestions to only use the two large onions and I used miricle whip.... It all got eaten. I think next time I will try it with mayo and I'm anxious to try it with vadalias!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Hot Artichoke and Spinach Dip II

This hot dip is loaded with spinach, artichokes, and plenty of gooey cheese!

Hot Artichoke Spinach Dip

Your guests will love this versatile, cheesy warm dip.

Hot Pizza Dip

All your favorite pizza ingredients in an easy, cheesy microwaved dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States