Hot Sweet Onion Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 3, 2008
We could not stop eating this dip! Next time I will put it into a crock pot to keep warm throughout the party. I substituted 8oz (1 brick) of cream cheese for half the mayo and used both parmesan (FRESHLY GRATED - not powdered ) and swiss cheeses. The parmesan added a nice kick of flavor and I think that all swiss would have been too bland. Be sure to chop the onions medium-fine or it takes a lot longer for the onions to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2008
This is so good. I have made it 2 times for different parties and everyone loves it. When they ask what is in it they can't believe it. Very Very good. I serve it with onion flavored crackers. Thank you so much for this recipe. Its a keeper!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
Everyone loved this. However, I changed it up a bit based on the reviews. Here it goes: 1 cup lite mayo, 2 cups chopped sweet onions, sprinkle of garlic powder 1 cup shredded swiss, 1/4 cup apricot preserves. A little explanation: I didn't use parm because I forgot and it turned out great. I used garlic powder becuase I didn't have garlic salt. Yes, it was a bit greasy, but I took some paper towels and soaked it up. As far as the apricot preserves, I know it sounds wierd, but I heard someone mention it in a review (maybe on another similar recipe). I was hesitant, but intrigued, so I tried it on half and everyone loved it so much that I put it on the rest. I just stirred it until somewhat smooth and spread it on the top of the dip after it was done baking. The sweet/salty combo is out of this world!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NMR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Hyde Park, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
Smelled good while baking, but my husband and I couldn't get past the grease. I drained off what I could, but it still overwhelmed the dip, both visually and taste. Luckly, I tried this before a girls happy hour at my house this coming week. Might try again with fat-free mayo and low fat swiss cheese...but not for girls night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
My mother got this recipe years ago at an office party, and I hadn't made it in years until this Christmas. I had my office over for a cup of holiday cheer, and they devoured it! I too have the "cuppa, cuppa, cuppa" recipe, and it couldn't be simpler to make! I like it best with plain or rye Triscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Livonia, New York, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
Very, very yummy and totally delish! Makes a ton of dip, enough for 8 persons Chistmas eve and Christmas day! Followed the recipe exactly except used 3 onions (mine were pretty big) and garnished with a sprinkle of paprika on top for color. Served with cocktail rye, carrot chips, and pita chips. Really easy, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
I have had this before at other parties and thought it was delicious. Yes, a bit greasy but it's cheese and mayo, so I was not alarmed. It's easy to make and I usually have the ingredients on hand making a quick fix. I DO prefer the onions to be finely chopped. My were a touch course. It will be finer next time. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2007
The taste is wonderful. I had this at a potluck at work and had to get the recipe from my coworker (her only difference is to add a little parm. cheese with the swiss). I do agree with one of the other users...this recipe does produce A LOT of grease. Just drain it as much as you can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BERRYFINES

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Falls Church, Virginia, USA
Living In: Burke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2007
I've been making this a party staple ever since snagging the recipe from a friend years ago. This is THE BEST and it's so easy. The rater who said "cuppa, cuppa, cuppa" made me laugh, because that's how I remember the recipe when I asked. Equal parts swiss, mayo, and sweet onions. I use light mayo and it's still yummy. Great w/crusty french bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2007
I got a variation of this recipe from my good friend Karen and I love it! She uses: 3 onions, 2 c mayo, 2 c shredded swiss, 1 8 oz can choped water chestnuts, 1/4 c dry white wine, 1 minced garlic glove, 1/2 tsp hot sauce. It is a fabulous recipe. There is always a crowd hovering over this dip at parties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Artichoke and Spinach Dip II

This hot dip is loaded with spinach, artichokes, and plenty of gooey cheese!

Hot Artichoke Spinach Dip

Your guests will love this versatile, cheesy warm dip.

Hot Pizza Dip

All your favorite pizza ingredients in an easy, cheesy microwaved dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States