Hot Sweet Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
CAUTION!! Don't make this! The ingredients and recipe make no sence. You only use between 2 and 6 apples for a regular or a mile high apple pie. Theres no way 12! apples could fit and You can NOt make an open face apple pie! It doesn't work, and 8 tb of cinnamon and a cup of brown sugar on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
Just made it and eating it now. Not bad at all with ice cream. Kind of resembles a Cinnabon. Maybe 1/2 of the cinnamon next time (?). It had to bake almost an hour instead of the 25-30 minutes it said in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
You can only fit about 6 apples into an apple pie, as for the rest of the ingredients in the pie... ugh!! It was like soup after it had finished and was so overwhelmed with cinnamon that you couldn't taste any other ingerdients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StephanieL25

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Longview, Washington, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
Okay, where to begin. First, perhaps it was because I was not using small apples, but I can't figure out how you would even get 12 apples into one pie shell. I have 1/2 of the apple mixture sitting in my refrigerator right now. I did reduce the amount of cinnamon. 2 tablespoons in the apple mixture, and 2 for the topping. Still though, the topping did not do what I imagined it would. I am not going to go to the trouble of making another crust, but I think I may go ahead and make up another batch of topping for the other half of apples sitting in my fridge, but add some margarine to it, and sprinkle it on top in a casserole and see what it does. My father-in-law, who loves apple pie never asked for seconds, or to keep some leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
I would rate it minus 1 but there isn't one. This measurements are totally off on this pie. You have enought here for almost 2-9" pies. Your mouth burns using this much cinammon. Not recommended at all; don't waste your time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stinkie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
This recipe must have been mistyped! If made according to the recipe, it is aweful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2004
An AWFUL pie. The measurements are incorrect. 12 apples is enough to make two pies. 8 TBS of cinnamon is incorrect - should it be 8 TSP? The topping needs something else - perhaps some butter. It doesn't combine with the pie - just burns on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2003
As written this gets 4 stars BUT...made with just 1 cup granulated sugar and 4 tablespoons cinnamon it deserves 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chestertown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States