Hot Spiked Cider Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Fantastic! As many other have said: I used cinnamon tea instead of orange, reduced the rum to 1 cup, and skipped the butter. Made it all on the stove and left it in the crock pot on low for whenever people wanted to get some. A big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
This recipes is fantastic. I halved the brown sugar and accidently forgot the butter. I also used just a shade less rum than it called for. I used a Captain Morgan knockoff that was cheaper but was still spiced rum. Definitely will be making again this fall and winter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by artbkward

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: West Lafayette, Ohio, USA
Living In: Delaware, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
This is a keeper! Easy to make and always a huge hit at fall and winter get-togethers! Just make sure you bring enough ingredients to make another batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Steubenville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
YUM! I used a crock pot to keep this warm outside at a pumpkin carving party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Star Dust Mining Company

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Canton, New York, USA
Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Nice taste, but better if kept in the fridge over night to let it set in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
YUMMY!!! This recipe will intoxicate you. As other reviewers, we doubled the cider to make a milder, tasty drink.... will make this all winter long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andreaninetoes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
Yummy! I made it just as listed. Only difference was I used 4 orange spice tea bags instead of 3 (I like strong flavors) and I used Captain Morgan's spiced rum. Stiff drinks don't bother me, so I didn't think this tasted too strong at all. But, my boyfriend was like, 'yowza' when he tasted it. He came back for a second cup though ;) and he barely ever drinks alcohol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
I have made many versions of hot cider, spiked and not spiked. This is by far my favorite! I made this without the rum, and people added rum when they wanted. The best thing about this, is that the drink is not.overly sweet, like others that add sugar to cider. The tea component is what puts it in. balance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooks4forty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
This stuff is awesome! Mine was a little different because I omitted the alcohol and used 2 bags of orange and 1 bag of lemon tea bags and added 1/4 c. maple syrup. It was GONE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by southern_rn

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Crossett, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
wonderful! you can also make this (or just keep it warm) in a slow cooker - have it on high until the tea is to your desired strength, add the rest of the ingredients, leave it on high for 15-30 min (until the flavors meld and the taste is where you want it to be) and then turn it to low and basically forget about it until you want to serve it. if you leave it for a long period of time, though, i would recommend adding the alcohol at the last minute. personally, i left the rum on the side so people could control the potency of their drink (and so people that don't drink could leave it out altogether). i used the cloudy, refrigerated cider, which i tend to like better anyway, and it made a delicious drink. i used spiced rum (as many reviewers suggested) and i think it complemented the cider well. i think halving the butter might be a good idea unless you really like butter, because we all found it to be a bit too much. the second time i made this, i doubled the recipe and used half orange spice tea bags and half gingerbread spice tea bags. i liked the combination of the two a lot. i also added a bit of vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chikalin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Englewood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Apple Cider

Nothing beats back a chilly day better than a steaming mug of spiced apple cider.

Hot Buttered Rum Batter

Batter up! It’s hot buttered rum when you need it.

Hot Toddy Cocktail

See how to make this classic winter warmer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States