Hot Spiced Cider Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
This tasted really good. I didn't have whole spices so I used half of everything since I had only ground spices. Made 8 servings and used 2 Tblsp brown sugar, 1/8 tsp ground allspice, 1/4 tsp ground cloves, a dash of ground cinnamon, 1/8 tsp salt, a pinch of ground nutmeg, 1 clementine, and 4 cups of homemade apple cider.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
I loved this recipe. I made it in the crock pot and placed all ingredients in a coffee filter, tied up, except for the oranges which I just left in the cider. I set the temperature to low and in ~2 hours it was ready to go. I served it at at Gingerbread house decorating party and all in attendance really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AUNTJACK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seeley Lake, Montana, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
This was a HIT at a neighborhood Christmas party. I made spiced wine and this recipe and the Cider was gone in the first 20 minutes! I give it 4 stars, because I halved the amount of sugar and it was still a little too sweet. I also did it on the stove and let the flavors come together for about 2h beforehand... but only because I don't own a coffee pot! Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chiquita632000

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
I make this every Holiday season. It is always a big hit. Mix it up in the slow cooker, set on low, and let it simmer all afternoon. The house smells so good when guests arrive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baldwin City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
I used the crock pot was easier and was a big hit with the crowd. My family doesn't much drink so this was a nice addition and holiday option.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Costa Mesa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
Did not care for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
This was a big hit at Thanksgiving. I threw everything in my crockpot so it was ready when I needed it. However, I left the oranges in after I served it up & it got very bitter from the rinds/peel so I didn't have any leftovers! Next time I must remember to take out the oranges! Dee-lish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela B

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
Very good and very easy. Doubled everything but the sugar (kept it 1/4 cup). Heated it to boiling on the stove to thoroughly dissolve the sugar, then let it heat in the slow cooker. As others have suggested, I put the spices in a coffee filter, closed up with a twist tie. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
Extremely easy and yummy! I'm a real estate broker & serve this at virtually ALL of my fall open houses. I use 3 quarts of apple juice instead of apple cider (it's easier to find & usually cheaper). I usually start it on the stove and then transfer it to the Crock Pot. If I don't have the whole spices on hand, I just use the ground spices & have not noticed a bit of difference in the taste. People rave about this cider. Is definitely a recipe to keep long-term.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
I put this in a pot on the stove and simmered it for a few hours before my party. Best thing for a cold winter day. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 231) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Apple Cider

Nothing beats back a chilly day better than a steaming mug of spiced apple cider.

Hot Spiced Christmas Wine

Treat your winter guests to a hot cup of holiday cheer.

Hot Buttered Rum Batter

Batter up! It’s hot buttered rum when you need it.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States