Hot Spiced Cider Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
Best Apple Cider I have made. Everyone loves it at thanksgiving and christmas time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
I made this on the stove top with a gallon of apple cider. I used 2 cinnamon sticks and maybe 1-1/2 tsp cloves. After reading the other reviews, I also reduced the brown sugar from 1/4 cup to maybe 3 or 4 tablespoons. It turned out awesome!! The entire pot was gone in a couple hours. I do agree with previous reviewers the bottom of the pot was really strong, and I'm not sure how to change that, but I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
I used the basket in the coffee pot method. I didn't follow the exact measurements but it still tasted WONDERFUL. Definitely use less sugar than 1/4 cup. And since it clogged my drip up (had to open and stir with a spoon to dislodge the clog) I would recommend adding the sugar to the pot, after some has brewed in...then stir. I will be making this again soon. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
I made this cider for Thanksgiving. I reduced the brown sugar to 1/8 cup, as recommended. I used a crock pot instead of a coffee maker. I tied up the whole spices in cheese cloth and put the ground nutmeg, salt, sugar, and oranges straight into the cider with the pouch of whole spices I created. I cooked the cider on high for a couple of hours until it was steaming hot, and then turned it to low when it was almost time to start serving it. I stirred it a few times while it was heating up. I took the cheese cloth pouch out at the end, but left the oranges in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Urbana, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
This was fantastic. I had a few people over and it was gone in no time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
A wonderfully delicious recipe. I mixed the ingredients and simmered in a pot over the stovetop, and it came out delicious. It won over a group that included both apple cider lovers and newbies alike. ^_^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alisha

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Camino, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
It was very sweet, so you might want to forgo the brown sugar. I served this up last christmas and had quite a bit left over. It just did'nt WOW us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Oakdale, California, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
I made this in the slow cooker and the recipe is good. A word of caution though: Do not leave the orange slices in for more than an hour or so. The white pith of the orange peel will make the whole batch taste bitter. Or perhaps you could peel the orange first? Mine was very bitter and I searched the internet for a remedy. Adding a little more sugar and a bit of fresh lemon juice helped. It probably didn't get rid of it completely, but it certainly tamed the bitterness to a drinkable level.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
I didn't put it in a coffee maker, I just put all the spices in a DIY teabag. I also didn't add any brown sugar because it was always sweet and yummy straight out of the carton. I tossed mine in the slow cooker for 6ish hours and my boyfriend's best friend is now OBSESED with it. Also, to spike this, spice rum is amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kibbe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
Very delicious! I made it in a crock pot left on high for 20 minutes. To infuse the spices I emptied out a tea bag and places the spices inside. I then tied it up with a piece of thread. I didn't use the orange. Came out perfect! Definitely will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 231) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Apple Cider

Nothing beats back a chilly day better than a steaming mug of spiced apple cider.

Hot Spiced Christmas Wine

Treat your winter guests to a hot cup of holiday cheer.

Hot Buttered Rum Batter

Batter up! It’s hot buttered rum when you need it.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States