Hot Spiced Cider Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
I did not care for the orange. It gave the cider a strange taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYCDaisy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
We made this in a crockpot and drained it before serving and then put it back in the crockpot to keep it warm. It was incredibly popular and the orange slices were so yummy that instead of throwing them out we added them to our mugs. There's no cider where we live so I had to make it with 100% apple juice and it was still amazing. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Very awesome! I did my cider in a slow cooker with the spices in a coffee filter hanging in from the edge. Added cinnamon sticks and they were a hit with my Christmas party! The orange was only slightly overpowering for me, but I'm not a huge fan of oranges and everyone else loved it :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
I had to double all the spices except the orange to make the flavour what we wanted it to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Camrose, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
We loved this! I used a crockpot to warm the cider and wrapped the ingredients in cheese cloth instead of placing in a coffee pot. Worked great and I plan on making it in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
this was a perfect combination of spices for cider. the second batch i made, i just winged it with the same spices and it still turned out great. we made ours a party and added a lot of rum too! i cooked mine on the stove top and threw all the spices into a coffee filter and stapled it together like a little satchel, and just let the oranges float freely in the cider.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
I really enjoyed this recipe. I used apple juice instead of cider and didn't add the brown sugar; it was definitely sweet enough, so I recommend you use the brown sugar to taste. Also, I made this on the stove rather than in a coffee pot. I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
This is the 3rd time I've made it and I believe I've hit a homer! Don't use any brown sugar, this is sweet enough with the cider. I added 2 cinnamon sticks instead of 1. I also boiled it on high for 5 minutes in a large pot, let it sit and cool for another 5, then double filtered it through my coffee maker basket. I would hate to see what this would do to the insides of a coffee pot for those of us who enjoy coffee. The first filtration is with a paper towel, then back through the basket with a coffee filter. Nothing but rave reviews from everyone that drank it. Well worth the extra work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lance Newby
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Used this recipe several times during the holiday season and everyone loved it. It was simple and quick since I put it in a slow cooker and let it sit while I did other baking. Instead of using an orange quartered, I used 1 orange spice tea bag. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
Five stars WITHOUT the brown sugar. It was delicious without it. I made it successfully in my coffee maker, but the coffee maker never worked again. The pump wouldn't pump. Next time (after I buy a new coffee maker) I will use the crockpot. I didn't have any allspice, so I subbed some pickling spice and it was wonderful! A big hit at our Christmas party-- every drop gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 231) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Apple Cider

Nothing beats back a chilly day better than a steaming mug of spiced apple cider.

Hot Spiced Christmas Wine

Treat your winter guests to a hot cup of holiday cheer.

Hot Buttered Rum Batter

Batter up! It’s hot buttered rum when you need it.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States