Hot Spiced Cider Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
I really enjoyed this recipe. I used apple juice instead of cider and didn't add the brown sugar; it was definitely sweet enough, so I recommend you use the brown sugar to taste. Also, I made this on the stove rather than in a coffee pot. I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
This is the 3rd time I've made it and I believe I've hit a homer! Don't use any brown sugar, this is sweet enough with the cider. I added 2 cinnamon sticks instead of 1. I also boiled it on high for 5 minutes in a large pot, let it sit and cool for another 5, then double filtered it through my coffee maker basket. I would hate to see what this would do to the insides of a coffee pot for those of us who enjoy coffee. The first filtration is with a paper towel, then back through the basket with a coffee filter. Nothing but rave reviews from everyone that drank it. Well worth the extra work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lance Newby
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Used this recipe several times during the holiday season and everyone loved it. It was simple and quick since I put it in a slow cooker and let it sit while I did other baking. Instead of using an orange quartered, I used 1 orange spice tea bag. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
Five stars WITHOUT the brown sugar. It was delicious without it. I made it successfully in my coffee maker, but the coffee maker never worked again. The pump wouldn't pump. Next time (after I buy a new coffee maker) I will use the crockpot. I didn't have any allspice, so I subbed some pickling spice and it was wonderful! A big hit at our Christmas party-- every drop gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
Best Apple Cider I have made. Everyone loves it at thanksgiving and christmas time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
I made this on the stove top with a gallon of apple cider. I used 2 cinnamon sticks and maybe 1-1/2 tsp cloves. After reading the other reviews, I also reduced the brown sugar from 1/4 cup to maybe 3 or 4 tablespoons. It turned out awesome!! The entire pot was gone in a couple hours. I do agree with previous reviewers the bottom of the pot was really strong, and I'm not sure how to change that, but I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
I used the basket in the coffee pot method. I didn't follow the exact measurements but it still tasted WONDERFUL. Definitely use less sugar than 1/4 cup. And since it clogged my drip up (had to open and stir with a spoon to dislodge the clog) I would recommend adding the sugar to the pot, after some has brewed in...then stir. I will be making this again soon. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
I made this cider for Thanksgiving. I reduced the brown sugar to 1/8 cup, as recommended. I used a crock pot instead of a coffee maker. I tied up the whole spices in cheese cloth and put the ground nutmeg, salt, sugar, and oranges straight into the cider with the pouch of whole spices I created. I cooked the cider on high for a couple of hours until it was steaming hot, and then turned it to low when it was almost time to start serving it. I stirred it a few times while it was heating up. I took the cheese cloth pouch out at the end, but left the oranges in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Urbana, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
This was fantastic. I had a few people over and it was gone in no time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
A wonderfully delicious recipe. I mixed the ingredients and simmered in a pot over the stovetop, and it came out delicious. It won over a group that included both apple cider lovers and newbies alike. ^_^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alisha

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Camino, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 235) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hot Apple Cider

Nothing beats back a chilly day better than a steaming mug of spiced apple cider.

Hot Spiced Christmas Wine

Treat your winter guests to a hot cup of holiday cheer.

Hot Buttered Rum Batter

Batter up! It’s hot buttered rum when you need it.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States