Hot Spiced Cider Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
The sugar made it waay to sweet, but without it the recipe is delish! Makes the house smell like Autumn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CutieKatie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Kadena, Okinawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
I like to make this in the crockpot because it makes the whole house smell wonderful. My family absolutely loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
I used apple juice instead of apple cider--I grabbed the wrong bottle at the store this week. The oranges I used were clementines, mine were small so I used two. I made this on the stove only because I don't have a regular coffee pot anymore. This is AMAZING. So warm, spicy and comforting. We all just love it. I saved a little in the fridge for tonight to warm up with a little cinnamon whisky. VERY GOOD.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
I used this as a base recipe, however when I made it the second time this fall it was much better. I opted for the slow cooker because I wanted it to keep warm throughout. the second time I left the brown sugar out and subsituded the orange for a lemon...way nice...had a light taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waianae, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Navarre, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
Oh my Gosh! The comments helped me immensly. I used a crock pot instead of the coffee pot and cut back just a little on the brown sugar and it was perfect. It was the best I've ever made. My guests loved it; I could tell because there was little left over and some wanted the recipe. This is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
I made this spiced cider for my daughter's birthday. Everyone loved it! I thought it was a little sweet, and I love sweet drinks, but you could easily lessen the amount of sugar. I'll certainly make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
Really fantastic. I just may brew a pot at work :).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
My coffee system doesn't allow for brewing a pot of coffee, so I resorted to the slow cooker method, forgoing the ground nutmeg as I used whole spices instead: cinnamon sticks, whole allspice, cardamom pods, star anise and a clove-studded orange. Left to simmer a while, the cider does become sweeter and more concentrated, so it's best to add brown sugar (if any is needed) before serving. Also, I've found that adding some brewed cinnamon-flavored tea helps dilute the cider should it become too sweet without having to add more cider. Great warming beverage, especially while taking breaks from raking leaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
I think it may be best to add the brown sugar at the end only if needed. I also think that the cider you use makes a difference. I've made this before and it was wonderful (using half the sugar). But this batch was way too sweet even with the reduced amount of brown sugar. In an attempt to save the batch, I added the juice of 3 lemons...and it worked! In fact, I may continue to add a little lemon juice to future cider.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
I love this recipe! The aroma is wonderful, it calls for cozy pj's on a snowy night by the fireplace! Or a festive hot drink at a holiday bash, very versatile. I use an electric coffee percolator and just put the ingredients in the metal basket. It works perfect! No messy coffee pot to have to clean up or degunk. The whole spices stay in the basket and never float around in the drink.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 231) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Apple Cider

Nothing beats back a chilly day better than a steaming mug of spiced apple cider.

Hot Spiced Christmas Wine

Treat your winter guests to a hot cup of holiday cheer.

Hot Buttered Rum Batter

Batter up! It’s hot buttered rum when you need it.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States