Hot Spiced Cider Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
I hosted a Christmas party last night and this was a hit. I made it per the directions in a slow cooker. I bought the least expensive unsweetened cider (in the juice isle). At first, I did not use the brown sugar per others suggestions after tasting, I deemed it needed it. I have a feeling had I purchased the cold cider for twice the price I would not have needed the sugar. Save yourself the money and buy the inexpensive/unsweetened and add the sugar. FINALLY and this is key have a bottle of BUTTERSCOTCH SNCHAPPS on hand. Guests can add a shot per cup...this was a HUGE HIT! At the end of the evening I poured the remainder back in the jug to use again tonight (Christmas Eve) and I will be certain to add the schnapps to my cup! YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kdayne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
Really, really, really good. The reason I gave this 4 stars is b/c I significantly changed the way it is made. I heated it on the stove until it was hot but not boiling then simmered it for 30 minutes. I took the suggestions of others and used a tied off coffee filter for the spices (but not the brown sugar). I had clementines and no oranges so I used 2 of those. My husband and I both thought this was absolutely delicious. In fact, I am going to make some more now - perfect remedy on a day when the wind chill is -zero!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Cohen-Tribbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
DELICIOUS! I used ground spices and put it on my stovetop on low - easy and fantastic. yum yum yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JKL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Middletown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
I used only 1 Tbsp brown sugar. Took a coffee filter and put the cloves and allspice in it, then tied with a twist. Used the crockpot, added the remaining ingredients to it and cooked on high for 1 hour; then turned to low 1 hour. Spiked it with Captain Morgan's Spiced Rum! EXCELLENT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mason, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
I just made this for a Christmas party-- Everyone raved about it--It was delish! I just threw everything in a crock-pot (not coffee filter or anything) and let it simmer--it was delicious and smelled like heaven! (and so easy!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christy
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
Made my whole house smell WONDERFUL!! It tastes delicous also! So easy to make. I made this on the stove over medium heat for a couple hours, wrapped all the spices in a coffee filter and tied it with a twist tie, and just let the cinnamon stick and oranges float in the cider. Abosolutely wonder. I had made a precious apple cider recipe and it tasted like theraflu, so i was hesitant to make this, but glad i did! Definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Bullhead City, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
My hubby made this mix in big batches one year except we used dried orange peel, and added star anise. We made up packages of the mix added a couple of mugs and put it in a basket for neighbours gifts. The smell in the house while it simmers is so homey and comforting. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
This is soooo good! Totally omitted the brown sugar. Would probably be over kill. We made this in the crockpot, bundled up the oranges and the spices in coffee filters and let them float in the cider that way. After a few hours we removed them and let the cider continue cooking for a few more hours. It was outstanding. I put it back into the cider container and stored it in the fridge afterwards. Now we heat it up as we go. Everyone was "ooo" and "aahh" over this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOOKEDONJESUS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
This is a great and easy recipe. Cut the brown sugar to 2 T. and I didn't have cinnamon sticks so I added a t. of ground cinnamon into the cider before pouring through the coffee maker (it wouldn't go through the filter on the first batch where I put it in the basket). No oranges either, so added 2 T. lemon juice to give it a zing and it was perfect - just like grandma's spiced tea:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
I made this cider for our Halloween Bonfire. It had great flavor and was easy to make, but it killed my coffee maker. Will try again using the stovetop method.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 237) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Apple Cider

Nothing beats back a chilly day better than a steaming mug of spiced apple cider.

Hot Spiced Christmas Wine

Treat your winter guests to a hot cup of holiday cheer.

Hot Buttered Rum Batter

Batter up! It’s hot buttered rum when you need it.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States