Hot Spiced Christmas Wine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
Every Christmas party I attend I am asked to bring this drink. I call it Mulled Wine. The only atleration I made is to put in ground ginger instead of the peels of ginger. It is the best drink ever! It is a keeper for the rest of my life.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Awesome! I used a box of red wine, no white. Smells wonderful and tastes even better. It tastes just like the spiced wine at the Christmas markets in Europe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
Excellent recipe as is, I also tried a dash of nutmeg for a little more zing which was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Very nice recipe. BTW - I have prepared this several times with different proportions of red:white wine, and they all turned out interesting. Maybe I just like wine any which way :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
I have quite a few different spiced wine/mulled wine recipes and this one is great. Personally, I like it better than with the honey. Honey can make the wine too sweet for me. This is simple and perfect. I used all red wine though and Grand Marnier instead of brandy. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
This is great for a chilly night. I had some cherry wine so used that as one of the reds and it worked perfectly. Like others, I just used crushed ginger (about 1/4 teaspoon) and orange juice (about 1 cup). Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
I love mulled wine, but no one else seemed to like it. I've had this many times out, but this was my first time making it. I didn't put in the fresh ginger and was skeptical about the brown sugar, but after trying it, it was a tad bitter. So I added honey. I liked it but my guests didn't seem to drink it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
Hot Spiced Christmas Wine I've made spiced mulled wine for years, and everybody always wants me to make some for them for Christmas to take home. I make mine with Sangria; a red Port; cinnamon; cardomom; nutmeg; cloves; brown sugar; and fresh cut slices of oranges and lemons. I don't use exact measurements, but make it 'to taste'. I can only suggest readers do the same, as not everyone likes the same amount of this or that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
I made this recipe for my family today for Christmas Eve. They loved it! Though I'm not a wine drinker, I liked it, too. I would recommend adding a dash of nutmeg (no more than 1/4 tsp.), and letting it sit on low heat for 2 or 3 hours, and I added probably close to 3/4 cup brown sugar. It was a very sweet, delicious wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
I made this wine and added a bit more brown sugar and grand marnier instead of brandy...sadly it came out tasting too much like ginger! If I decide to make it again I am thinking of just cutting the ginger down to only 1 inch piece, and adding more sugar to sweeten the drink up. I don't know what wines everyone used in this recipe, I used Shiraz and Chardonnay, perhaps I should use sweeter wines? I don't know what I did, but the drink is too "tangy."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by saucylili

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Spiced Christmas Wine

Treat your winter guests to a hot cup of holiday cheer.

Hot Buttered Rum Batter

Batter up! It’s hot buttered rum when you need it.

Hot Apple Cider

Nothing beats back a chilly day better than a steaming mug of spiced apple cider.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States