Hot Spiced Christmas Wine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
Excellent recipe as is, I also tried a dash of nutmeg for a little more zing which was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
Every Christmas party I attend I am asked to bring this drink. I call it Mulled Wine. The only atleration I made is to put in ground ginger instead of the peels of ginger. It is the best drink ever! It is a keeper for the rest of my life.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
I love mulled wine, but no one else seemed to like it. I've had this many times out, but this was my first time making it. I didn't put in the fresh ginger and was skeptical about the brown sugar, but after trying it, it was a tad bitter. So I added honey. I liked it but my guests didn't seem to drink it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Awesome! I used a box of red wine, no white. Smells wonderful and tastes even better. It tastes just like the spiced wine at the Christmas markets in Europe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
I have quite a few different spiced wine/mulled wine recipes and this one is great. Personally, I like it better than with the honey. Honey can make the wine too sweet for me. This is simple and perfect. I used all red wine though and Grand Marnier instead of brandy. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
This is great for a chilly night. I had some cherry wine so used that as one of the reds and it worked perfectly. Like others, I just used crushed ginger (about 1/4 teaspoon) and orange juice (about 1 cup). Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Very nice recipe. BTW - I have prepared this several times with different proportions of red:white wine, and they all turned out interesting. Maybe I just like wine any which way :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
A first-time experience for me, this was a great introduction to hot spice wine. The next time I make it (and there WILL be a next time!??), I'm going to cut the ginger by a third and add some white sugar to the brown, to balance out the flavors. And I used Slenda brown sugar substitute and it was great - I may do so with the white as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
I made this wine and added a bit more brown sugar and grand marnier instead of brandy...sadly it came out tasting too much like ginger! If I decide to make it again I am thinking of just cutting the ginger down to only 1 inch piece, and adding more sugar to sweeten the drink up. I don't know what wines everyone used in this recipe, I used Shiraz and Chardonnay, perhaps I should use sweeter wines? I don't know what I did, but the drink is too "tangy."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by saucylili

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
I made this recipe for my family today for Christmas Eve. They loved it! Though I'm not a wine drinker, I liked it, too. I would recommend adding a dash of nutmeg (no more than 1/4 tsp.), and letting it sit on low heat for 2 or 3 hours, and I added probably close to 3/4 cup brown sugar. It was a very sweet, delicious wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Hot Spiced Christmas Wine

Treat your winter guests to a hot cup of holiday cheer.

Hot Apple Cider

Nothing beats back a chilly day better than a steaming mug of spiced apple cider.

Hot Buttered Rum Batter

Batter up! It’s hot buttered rum when you need it.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States