Hot Spiced Christmas Wine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
When I was stationed in Germany we got some stuff called "Gleuwine" during the winter from our neighbors who taught us to make it too. We did not cook it nearly as long and that helped retain some of the alcohol rather than having to replace it with the Brandy. As I recall it was a nice drink to have with close friends and my extended German "Family". Wheelchair Bob
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robert Beckett

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
I made this recipe for the first time this past Christmas, and everyone loved it. I used Sweet Red as the red wine and Pinot Grigio as the white. I also added an extra orange to the recipe to give it more of a citrus flavor, and cut up orange slices in it more so for show. This is a recipe I will keep using.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
It had too much spices in it that it turned out bitter. Everyone had a hard time drinking it even when adding extra sugar and water ( to dilute).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
I liked this a lot but my guests did not. I think the brandy was just too much for them. Next time I'll leave it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNN39SCAF

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Delicious. Easy to make and made the kitchen smell delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Rave reviews when I served this !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
MAde this tonight using about 1/2 tsp dried ginger, a few dashes of nutmeg, and 1 cup orange juice as recommended by others. YUM!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
It was the best drink for our holiday party Evan though there is no snow
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amber Schreiner
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Made this in a crockpot for my family Christmas dinner. Didn't strain. Looked beautiful & made for great presentation! It was the biggest hit of the day! Having it in a crockpot also allowed for all day use while keeping it the perfect temperature. This will be a staple every Christmas from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Delicious and easy. I used ground ginger and cut the recipe in half. We used boxed wine. Next time I think I would use a little less orange zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Spiced Christmas Wine

Treat your winter guests to a hot cup of holiday cheer.

Hot Buttered Rum Batter

Batter up! It’s hot buttered rum when you need it.

Hot Apple Cider

Nothing beats back a chilly day better than a steaming mug of spiced apple cider.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States