Hot Shrimp Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
I read all the reviews but made it anyway, very disappointed.... I bought fresh shrimp from the meat counter..... and I pat-dried the shrimp and as it was going into the oven, it seemed fine and I thought I had beat the reviews, but after it baked, it was runny, watery, etc. I will never make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Very good recipe. I agree with those that said a bit watery. I did drain the shrimp but would certainly pat it dry and I would leave out the oil. I did add a bit of hot pepper powder. Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
Oil is unnecessary with mayo, and if you saute the chopped shrimp first with garlic and finely diced pepper and onion, strain and cool it, you will have less water as it will evaporate as it cools. Then mix in the wet ingredients, spice and cheese, then bake. You can also top this with some bread crumb to absorb additional moisture but then it may get too dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
I omitted the oil and this was still very greasy and liquidy. Had a very off flavor too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Jessica

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
this was great!! will definitely double the recipe next time - it disappeared very fast. i added chopped celery and cooked all the veggies in skillet before baking. i'll omit the oil next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
We decided to make this at the beach with some leftover boiled shrimp. We made it exactly like the recipe indicated, and the flavor is fabulous! It did come out somewhat watery, but it was great. I think I might cook the onion and pepper in a skillet first next time to see if that helps. Oh yeah - I used yellow and red bell peppers instead of green, and the sweetness was great with the flavor of the shrimp and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Recipe was great! I think the people who had theirs come out watery must have been using frozen shrimp that were not thawed all the way. Use fresh shrimp if yuo can find them. I sauted the onion and pepper first to soften them, then added the shrimp and seasoning just to blend the flavors. I recommend this. Next time I'll try it with Paul Prudhome seasoning instead of OLd Bay, but it was great like it is written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
This dip was ok. My guests were not wowed, BUT I am known for my crab dip, so I think they were expecting that. I think this is a good base, and with a few changes could be a dip my seafood loving family could love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
My husband and I served this at a party and it was very well received. We think this recipe could be served as a dinner, over rice. Tasty and easy - can't ask for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
To solve the watery problem with this recipe, lay shrimp out on paper towels to get rid of extra moisture. Then coat Shrimp, onion and green peppers with 1 Tablespoon of cornstarch. I omitted the salt and and would probably cut down on the onions in the future. Good taste and a nice change to the usual cream cheese based recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beddy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Hot Artichoke and Spinach Dip II

This hot dip is loaded with spinach, artichokes, and plenty of gooey cheese!

Hot Pizza Dip

All your favorite pizza ingredients in an easy, cheesy microwaved dip.

Hot Artichoke Spinach Dip

Your guests will love this versatile, cheesy warm dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States