Hot Shrimp Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2001
The first time I made this it was very watery. When I made it the second time I left out the oil and it was much less watery and just as delicious! This is a great dip! I buttered little french bread rounds and grilled them. then I put a pile of the dip on top with a sprinkle of extra cheese and broiled them a couple minutes. FANTASTIC and a big hit! Not one remained.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2001
This recipe was wonderful..I made it for our Christmas Eve get together and it was the first to go.. I was fun to make..It was a little watery but that didn't stop anyone..We all loved it..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2003
Easy and very good. Had many compliments on this when I took it to a party!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2004
I made this for Father's Day and my family loved it! I doubled the recipe and had none left. I omitted the oil, as someone else suggested, and also omitted the extra salt, since Old Bay is already so salty. It was great! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
My husband and I served this at a party and it was very well received. We think this recipe could be served as a dinner, over rice. Tasty and easy - can't ask for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Recipe was great! I think the people who had theirs come out watery must have been using frozen shrimp that were not thawed all the way. Use fresh shrimp if yuo can find them. I sauted the onion and pepper first to soften them, then added the shrimp and seasoning just to blend the flavors. I recommend this. Next time I'll try it with Paul Prudhome seasoning instead of OLd Bay, but it was great like it is written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
We decided to make this at the beach with some leftover boiled shrimp. We made it exactly like the recipe indicated, and the flavor is fabulous! It did come out somewhat watery, but it was great. I think I might cook the onion and pepper in a skillet first next time to see if that helps. Oh yeah - I used yellow and red bell peppers instead of green, and the sweetness was great with the flavor of the shrimp and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
this was great!! will definitely double the recipe next time - it disappeared very fast. i added chopped celery and cooked all the veggies in skillet before baking. i'll omit the oil next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
To solve the watery problem with this recipe, lay shrimp out on paper towels to get rid of extra moisture. Then coat Shrimp, onion and green peppers with 1 Tablespoon of cornstarch. I omitted the salt and and would probably cut down on the onions in the future. Good taste and a nice change to the usual cream cheese based recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beddy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2004
I had to modify this but still was very tasty. No onion, pepper or oil - it was watery because of the fresh shrimp and I would cut down on the Old Bay but excellent on parmesan toasts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Crab Dip

See how to make a rich and creamy hot crab dip.

Hot Artichoke and Spinach Dip II

This hot dip is loaded with spinach, artichokes, and plenty of gooey cheese!

Holiday Hot Spinach Dip

Cheesy, creamy spinach and artichoke baked appetizer dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States