Hot Shrimp Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2001
The first time I made this it was very watery. When I made it the second time I left out the oil and it was much less watery and just as delicious! This is a great dip! I buttered little french bread rounds and grilled them. then I put a pile of the dip on top with a sprinkle of extra cheese and broiled them a couple minutes. FANTASTIC and a big hit! Not one remained.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Recipe was great! I think the people who had theirs come out watery must have been using frozen shrimp that were not thawed all the way. Use fresh shrimp if yuo can find them. I sauted the onion and pepper first to soften them, then added the shrimp and seasoning just to blend the flavors. I recommend this. Next time I'll try it with Paul Prudhome seasoning instead of OLd Bay, but it was great like it is written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2001
This was a great recipe however I used frozen shrimp from Trader Joe's and would suggest draining the water and even squeezing the shrimp to avoid a "watery" dip. Mine was a bit watery, but every party goer raved about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2002
My family loved it! The next time I make it I'll use no oil because it was watery and less garlic. My family wants to try it again. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
To solve the watery problem with this recipe, lay shrimp out on paper towels to get rid of extra moisture. Then coat Shrimp, onion and green peppers with 1 Tablespoon of cornstarch. I omitted the salt and and would probably cut down on the onions in the future. Good taste and a nice change to the usual cream cheese based recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beddy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2004
I read all the other reviews before I made this dish. I drained the shrimp extra well and laid the onion and bell pepper out on paper towel to remove all the excess water as well. I ommitted the oil and it STILL came out runny and watery. The dish's flavor is great, but I will not make it again because of the way it came out. Good luck if you try it. I would love to know how to make it and it not be watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2004
I made this for Father's Day and my family loved it! I doubled the recipe and had none left. I omitted the oil, as someone else suggested, and also omitted the extra salt, since Old Bay is already so salty. It was great! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2001
This recipe was wonderful..I made it for our Christmas Eve get together and it was the first to go.. I was fun to make..It was a little watery but that didn't stop anyone..We all loved it..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
We decided to make this at the beach with some leftover boiled shrimp. We made it exactly like the recipe indicated, and the flavor is fabulous! It did come out somewhat watery, but it was great. I think I might cook the onion and pepper in a skillet first next time to see if that helps. Oh yeah - I used yellow and red bell peppers instead of green, and the sweetness was great with the flavor of the shrimp and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2003
Easy and very good. Had many compliments on this when I took it to a party!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Hot Crab Dip

See how to make a rich and creamy hot crab dip.

Hot Artichoke and Spinach Dip II

This hot dip is loaded with spinach, artichokes, and plenty of gooey cheese!

Hot Pizza Dip

All your favorite pizza ingredients in an easy, cheesy microwaved dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States