Hot Shredded Chicken Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
Used chicken breasts, and fat free soup. Cant believe how good this for a simple healthy dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
I grew up with Shredded Chicken Sandwiches. So good. I've always used crushed potato chips or herb flavored stuffing mix instead of the crackers. I also don't remember it needing any seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
It was good, not great i would try the sour cream next time... If i make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
Delicious! For all the "anti-mushy" folks: shredded chicken sandwiches are *supposed* to be mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
This IS an Ohio thing. I grew up on these sandwiches in the Newark area. Not all of Ohio has them. I didn't realize until after moveing around the country it is ONLY a central Ohio thing so I make these for my family. I do add garlic and onion powder with salt and pepper. Not ment to have a lot of spice flavor, just a good chicken flavor. Some places made theirs creamy (more soup, less crackers) others with less soup and crackers, less creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat P

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, Ohio, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
I like this recipe! I never ate this sandwich! It mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tools1
Living In: Corona, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2008
I made a few changes and it was ok - I poached the chicken in chicken broth, added a little of that, paprika, a little milk, and a spoonful of sour cream. I think I'll do without the crackers next time, I didn't really like the taste they added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
It is true, this is a bland food but that is exactly how these sandwiches taste. I was raised in Texas & haven't really understood my Ohio family's excitement over these sandwiches served at their local fair each year but all I can say is that maybe it has everything to do with regional taste, memories, & tradition. I guess that is why I was searching for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Powder Springs, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
We used half chicken thighs, and half skinless boneless chicken. We also used two cans cream of chicken soup and used some garlic and onion powder in addition to the poultry seasoning. We mixed everything together and tryed to cook on the stove. The mixture was so dry that we just couldn't figure out how this was going to cook (without burning anyway). We added a half cup of milk, which gave it a more workable consistency. Flavor was decent. Not completely sure if I would try this one again or not. It was good, don't get me wrong, everyone ate this (including three young children) with no complaints. I'm thinking there is a better recipe out there though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Connersville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Galion, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
This was okay. I used one can of mushroom & one can of cream of chicken with herbs. I also added about a half cup of sour cream & a half cup of milk. For seasoning I added 1/4 of an onion finely minced & some garlic powder in addition to the poultry seasoning. The recipe is a little bland, but you can jazz it up to your liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Buffalo Chicken Sandwiches

Make spicy, slow-simmering Buffalo chicken for sandwiches.

Pulled Chicken Sandwiches

See time-saving tricks for quick-and-easy pulled chicken sandwiches.

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States